Steve Clarke Announces Scotland’s Euro 2020 Squad

Steve Clarke

Scotland manager Steve Clarke has announced the 26-man squad he will take to play at Euro 2020.

Arsenal’s Kieran Tierney, Liverpool’s Andrew Robertson and Aston Villa’s John McGinn are included, while six Celtic players including Callum McGregor and James Forrest are also named. Nineteen-year-old Rangers defender Nathan Patterson is a surprise inclusion alongside teammate Jon McLaughlin.

Southampton duo Stuart Armstrong and Che Adams make the cut as does Chelsea midfielder Billy Gilmour. However, John Fleck will not be joined by Sheffield United teammate Oli McBurnie, who is ruled out with injury. Ryan Jack and Kenny McLean also miss out with injuries.

Sheffield Wednesday duo Liam Palmer and Callum Paterson were not picked by Steve Clarke, but the Scotland manager wants players to maintain fitness should injuries arise.

Steve Clarke Names Scotland Squad for Euro 2020

Clarke Includes Three Uncapped Players In Nathan Patterson, Billy Gilmour and David Turnbull

It’s an exciting time for the Scottish national side as they gear up for their first major tournament since 1998.

Amongst the usual suspects, Clarke has sprung a few surprises in his squad, such as uncapped trio Nathan Patterson, Billy Gilmour and David Turnbull. Patterson has enjoyed a breakthrough season with Rangers, featuring on several occasions for Steven Gerrard’s side. He played his part in Rangers securing the Scottish Premiership title and the team going the whole league season unbeaten.

Nineteen-year-old Billy Gilmour has been steadily working his way into contention with a string of good performances for Chelsea. He has been used in recent games by Thomas Tuchel and has impressed. Gilmour can certainly offer something this summer, as can David Turnbull, who has shone in what has been a miserable campaign overall for Celtic. The 21-year-old scored nine times and notched six assists – an impressive campaign for the midfielder who will be hoping to stake his claim for a place in the team.

Scotland’s group games include difficult clashes with England and Croatia. Steve Clarke and his players will relish the challenge ahead as Scotland gear up for their first major tournament in 23 years.

Scotland Squad in Full

Goalkeepers: Craig Gordon, David Marshall, Jon McLaughlin

Defenders: Stephen O’Donnell, Nathan Patterson, Kieran Tierney, Andrew Robertson, Declan Gallagher, Grant Hanley, Liam Cooper, Jack Hendry, Scott McKenna, Greg Taylor

Midfielders: David Turnbull, Stuart Armstrong, John McGinn, Callum McGregor, Billy Gilmour, Scott McTominay, John Fleck, Ryan Christie

Forwards: Ryan Fraser, James Forrest, Che Adams, Lyndon Dykes, Kevin Nisbet


Main Photo

Embed from Getty Images