Sports. Honestly. Since 2011

Carabao Cup Final – Liverpool 1-0 Chelsea: Virgil Van Djik’s Late Extra-Time Winner Secures Trophy

Carabou Cup Final: Virgil van Djik secures Liverpool 1-0 Chelsea victory.

A masterclass from Virgil Van Djik and Caoimhin Kelleher gave Liverpool a stunning 1-0 win against Chelsea in the Carabao Cup Final, as the Dutchman rose high from Tsimikas’ corner to give a Jurgen Klopp’s side a deserved 119th-minute winner.

The Reds captain was earlier denied by a controversial VAR decision in the 60th minute. Despite all the odds, with 11 senior players ruled out of the tie, they defeated Mauricio Pochettinos Chelsea.

Liverpool 1 – 0 Chelsea: Virgil Van Djik Winner Secures Deserved Victory

Jurgen Klopp Secures Carabao Cup Trophy in Final Season

Liverpool were constantly creating chances against Chelsea and were cruelly denied a 60th-minute Virgil Van Djik opener after a controversial VAR decision.

Waturo Endo was adjudged to be affecting play when screening Levi Colwill on a free kick from out wide and after referee Chris Kavanaugh went to the monitor to review the goal, he ruled it out for offside.

The decision caused huge frustration from the Liverpool fans, fuelled by an earlier missed decision when Moises Caciedo’s late challenge on Ryan Gravenberch was unpunished. Despite catching the Dutch midfielder with his studs on the top of his boot, the yellow card was not shown.

The Ecuadorian midfielder was similarly lucky in a recent Premier League tie against Manchester City. Despite missing 11 senior squad players from kick-off, including Mohammed Salah, Dominic Szoboszlai and Darwin Nunez, the Reds were a constant threat and dominated large swathes of the game.

Jurgen Klopp looked bemused by the decisions against his side but will have been encouraged by how his side had the better chances in the face of injuries and questionable refereeing decisions.

Raheem Sterling had also been denied by an offside decision after Jackson found him from out wide. The offside call to deny his goal was marginal but correct.

Chelsea did make some huge chances, with Conor Gallagher denied by the post. Second-choice Kelleher denied Cole Palmer, Axel Disasi and Nicholas Jackson from close range in an absurd performance.

Chelsea’s backup keeper Dorde Petrovic made an acrobatic save early in extra time as his side sat back. The Blues struggled despite Liverpool making several substitutions to bring on youth players Bobby Clark, Jayden Danns, while Kostas Tsimikas and Joe Gomez replaced Andy Robertson and Conor Bradley.

Read More: Carabao Cup Final: Pochettino Vs Klopp All-Time Head To Head Record

Kelleher Masterclass – Youth Players Put in Unbelievable Display

Despite facing a squad with a recent £1 billion cash injection, led by Mauricio Pochettino, Liverpool’s youth-filled side was impressive on both ends of the pitch. They registered 24 shots and 11 on target vs Chelsea’s 19 and 9 on target. Klopp’s side also had 54% possession.

When it seemed they would fade and tire in extra-time, they asserted pressure on the West London side and secured a deserved victory and what could be Jurgen Klopp’s final trophy at the club before he leaves at the end of the season.

Their stand-in goalkeeper made several excellent saves throughout the game and did well to deal with set pieces and crosses where they came. It was a performance even first-choice keeper Allison would have been proud of.

Read More: Harvey Elliott Must Continue Improvement To Establish Himself At Anfield

Carabao Cup Final Player Ratings: Chelsea – Liverpool

Chelsea player ratings: Dorde Petrovic (8), Malo Gusto (7), Axel Disasi (7), Levi Colwill (6), Ben Chilwell (5), Moises Caicedo (6), Enzo Fernandez (7), Cole Palmer (8), Conor Gallagher (5), Raheem Sterling (6), Nicolas Jackson (7)

Substitutes: Christoher Nkunku (6), Trevor Chalobah (5), Noni Maduake (6), Mykhailo Mudryk (5)

Liverpool player ratings: Caoimhin Kelleher (10), Conor Bradley (7), Ibrahim Konate (8), Virgil Van Djik (10), Alexis Macallister (7), Waturo Endo (7), Ryan Gravenberch (6), Harvey Elliot (8), Cody Gakpo (5), Luiz Dias (7)

Substitutes: Joe Gomez (7), Kostas Tsimikas (7), Bobby Clark (8), Joe McConnell (6), Jayden Danns (6),


More Posts