Kota Ibushi Wins G1 Climax 30

Kota Ibushi

Kota Ibushi writes his name in the history books as he becomes the first person to win back-to-back G1 Climax titles since Hiroyoshi Tenzan in 03/04.  Ibushi joins a very illustrious echelon with his win as he joins Tenzan and Masahiro Chono as the only back-to-back winners of the G1 Climax.  Antonio Inoki won back-to-back IWGP Leagues and MSE Series’ but ever since the switch to the G1 Climax branding only three names have won two titles in a row, Ibushi’s name is now up there with some of the best wrestlers in NJPW history.

Ibushi fought SANADA in the final after emerging as the surprise winner of the stacked A Block which featured Kazuchika Okada, Jay White, Will Ospreay, and Shingo Takagi to name just a few of the top competitors that Ibushi faced on his road to victory.

With this win, Kota Ibushi is on course to renew his rivalry with Tetsuya Naito who currently holds the IWGP Heavyweight Championship.  The two waged a number of wars over the IWGP Intercontinental Championship in the past and would likely wrestle for both championships as they were “unified” at the start of 2020.  Ibushi must defend his right to face Naito at the Tokyo Dome though and we think this may be the first time the G1 winner loses their championship opportunity.

Stay tuned to Last Word on Pro Wrestling for more on this and other stories from around the world of wrestling, as they develop. You can always count on LWOPW to be on top of the major news in the wrestling world, as well as to provide you with analysis, previews, videos, interviews, and editorials on the wrestling world. Make sure to watch New Japan Pro Wrestling on NJPW WORLD. 

Looking to talk wrestling, pro football, or any number of sports? Head on over to the LWOS Boards to engage in conversation with fellow fans!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.