England Confirm Final Euro 2020 Squad

England have confirmed their final squad for the upcoming Euro 202 tournament. Gareth Southgate had initially named a preliminary 33-man squad last week but has now cut seven players in order to reach his final squad.

England Confirm Euro 2020 Squad


The Dropouts

After naming a 33-man group last week, Gareth Southgate knew he would have some tough decisions coming up in order to cut it down.

One of those was made for him when Manchester United’s Mason Greenwood withdrew from the squad due to a pre-existing injury. Another United player in Jesse Lingard, whose form on loan at West Ham United in the second half of last season got him into the provisional squad, is one of those to miss out.

Sheffield United goalkeeper Aaron Ramsdale has also been omitted, meaning the three goalkeepers heading to the tournament will be Dean Henderson, Sam Johnstone and Jordan Pickford.

Young defenders Ben Godfrey and Ben White, who were surprise inclusions in the preliminary squad, have missed out, as has Aston Villa striker Ollie Watkins and Southampton midfielder James Ward-Prowse.


After reports all week that Liverpool full-back Trent Alexander-Arnold was set to be omitted from the squad, it emerged late on before the deadline that he had actually made the cut, and that has proved to be the case with the official announcement.

It means that England will be taking four right-backs to the tournament, although the versatility of the quartet will prove to be effective and won’t mean three are sitting on the bench for the majority of the games.

Teenagers Jude Bellingham and Bukayo Saka, who have had brilliant seasons with Borussia Dortmund and Arsenal respectively, have also made the final squad, as has Leeds United midfielder Kalvin Phillips.

England Euro 2020 Squad in Full

Goalkeepers: Dean Henderson, Sam Johnstone, Jordan Pickford

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold, Ben Chilwell, Conor Coady, Reece James, Harry Maguire, Tyrone Mings, Luke Shaw, John Stones, Kieran Trippier, Kyle Walker

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham, Jordan Henderson, Mason Mount, Kalvin Phillips, Declan Rice

Attackers: Dominic Calvert-Lewin, Phil Foden, Jack Grealish, Harry Kane, Marcus Rashford, Bukayo Saka, Jadon Sancho, Raheem Sterling


Main Photo

Embed from Getty Images