North America to Host 2026 World Cup

2026 World Cup

The votes are in and the host of the 2026 World Cup is decided. The joint bid from all three North American nations – Canada, the United States and Mexico – will split hosting duties in eight years’ time.

Joint North American Bid Wins 2026 World Cup

The decision to award the 2026 tournament to North America was far from a foregone conclusion. As recently as earlier this month, football’s governing body expressed doubts over U.S. President Donald Trump’s controversial policies on immigration as well as his infamous travel ban.

While these issues will remain a concern, a Moroccan World Cup would have had problems of its own. For example, there are currently laws in effect in the north African nation which make certain sexual orientations a crime punishable by imprisonment.

No doubt there are still those who feel apprehensive about the joint North American bid. However, a recent FIFA report concluded that the united bid is the lesser of two evils.

Host Cities

23 cities across North America will host matches in the 2026 World Cup. The vast majority are located in the United States, while just three each from Canada and Mexico make the list.

In Canada, Montreal, Toronto and Edmonton will serve as host venues. In Mexico, it will be Mexico City, Guadalajara and Monterrey. The U.S. cities of Boston, New York, Philadelphia, Washington D.C., Baltimore, Atlanta, Orlando, Miami, Nashville, Cincinnati, Kansas City, Dallas, Houston, Denver, Seattle, San Francisco and Los Angeles are also set to host matches.

Infrastructure was among the deciding factors in selecting the united bid. North America already has both the venues and accommodations required for such a large tournament. Meanwhile, Morocco would have needed to invest heavily in not only stadia but also accommodations.

This is a very important issue, as the 2026 World Cup is the first to include 48 teams.

Main Image Credit:
Embed from Getty Images