Sports. Honestly. Since 2011

A Full List of the 151 Championship Free Agents Released After Busy Season

championship free agents

The dust has settled following the conclusion of the 2021/22 Championship season.

AFC Bournemouth, Fulham and Nottingham Forest are busy preparing for life in the Premier League after winning promotion to the top flight, whilst Derby County, Barnsley and Peterborough United have been saying their goodbyes after relegation to League One.

All the Championship Free Agents Ahead of 2022/23 Season

Clubs officially have until the third Saturday of May – which is May 21 this year – as to whether they are being retained or not for the upcoming season. Clubs who reach the playoffs are given an extension of four days after their last match.

The EFL publishes their retained list by the second Saturday in June (June 11 this year) once all clubs have sent their information to the central office.

These are the 151 players made available as Championship free agents so far in 2022…


Aapo Halme, Connor Hodgson, Daniel Jinadu, Tomas Kalinauskas, George Miller.

Birmingham City

Jeremie Bela, Renedi Masampu, Archie Matthews, Kristian Pedersen, Oriol Soldevila, Kane Thompson-Sommers, Connal Trueman, Yoane Zohore.

Blackburn Rovers

Luke Brennan, Harry Chapman, Jacob Davenport, Sam Durrant, Bradley Johnson, Connor McBride, Joe Nolan.


Cameron Antwi, Ryan Grant, Johnny Johnston, Matthew Liptrott, Charlie Monks, Ethan Robson, Sky Sinclair, Grant Ward.


Gary Cahill, Brennan Camp, Ryan Glover, Connor Kurran-Browne, Luke Nippard.

Bristol City

Khari Allen, Louis Britton, Callum O’Dowda, Barney Soady, Nathaniel Williams.

Cardiff City

Will Vaulks, Leandro Bacuna, Isaac Vassell, Ciaron Brown, Josh Murphy, Alex Smithies, Aden Flint, Marlon Pack.

Coventry City

Jodi Jones, Josh Pask.

Derby County

To follow.

READ MORE: Nottingham Forest Star Will Not Be Signing New Contract


Timmy Abraham, Jacob Adams, Eric Ameyaw, Xavier Benjamin, Tyler Caton, Cyrus Christie, Fabri, Michael Hector, Alfie Mawson, Jean Michaël Seri, Jerome Opoku, Jonathon Page, Julian Schwarzer, Jaylan Wildbore.

Huddersfield Town

Alex Vallejo, Jamal Blackman, Reece Brown, Fraizer Campbell, Carel Eiting, Naby Sarr.

Hull City

Tom Eaves, Tom Huddlestone, Richie Smallwood.

Luton Town

TQ Addy, Sam Beckwith, Elliott Lee, Corey Panter, Jake Peck.


Sol Bamba, Lee Peltier, Neil Taylor.


Jayden Davis, Kai Garande, Connor Mahoney, Dan Moss, Sean O’Brien, Alex Pearce, Junior Tiensia.

READ MORE: Manchester United Stance Over James Garner Transfer Becomes Clear

Nottingham Forest

Tobias Figueiredo, Gaetan Bong, Carl Jenkinson.

Peterborough United

Kyle Barker, Dai Cornell, Serhat Tasdemir.

Preston North End

Tom Barkhuizen, Jack Baxter, Izzy Brown, Jacob Holland-Wilkinson, Mathew Hudson, Paul Huntington, Oliver Lombard, Joe Rafferty, Connor Ripley, Joe Rodwell-Grant, Scott Sinclair, Jamie Thomas, Ethan Walker.


Charlie Austin, Dom Ball, Yoann Barbet, Dillon Barnes, David Marshall, Lee Wallace, Kieren Westwood.


Jordan Addo-Antoine, Felipe Araruna, Brandon Barker, Ethan Bristow, Alen Halilovic, Junior Hoilett, James Holden, Marc McNulty, Michael Morrison, Orjan Nyland, Lynford Sackey, John Swift, Malachi Talent-Aryeetey, Terell Thomas.

READ MORE: Huddersfield Town Sign League One Defender

Sheffield United

Luke Freeman, David McGoldrick, Lys Mousset.

Stoke City

James Chester, Steven Fletcher, Tom Ince, Tommy Smith.

Swansea City

Nico Defreitas-Hansen, Yan Dhanda, Josh Gould, Ben Hamer, Jamie Searle, Korey Smith.

West Brom

Andy Carroll, Mark Chidi, Zak Delaney, Sam Johnstone, Kevin Joshua, MacKenzie Lamb, Leon MacHisa, Daniel Ngoma, Romaine Sawyers, Jamie Soule, Aurio Teixeira, Owen Windsor.


More Posts