Everything You Need to Know Ahead of the 2022 Women’s Euros in England

womens euros

The England men’s team gave us their all in the 2020 European Championships, next it’s the turn of the women.

As a possible precursor for a 2030 men’s World Cup bid, England is to host the 2022 Women’s Euros. Here is everything you need to know ahead of next summer’s competition.

All You Need to Know as Euro 2020 Comes to England

Following on from the men’s success in 2021, the England Women’s team will hope to bring similar smiles when they compete in the Women’s Euros.

The Lionesses qualified automatically as host nations; however, they rank sixth in the FIFA world rankings and are a possible outsider bet to win the competition.

Having managed England Women since 2018, Phil Neville has stepped down as head coach and is to be replaced by Sarina Wiegman come next summer’s tournament.

Where And When Is The Women’s Euros?

England will host the Women’s Euros between July 6 and July 31, 2022.

Group stage fixtures will be played between July 6 and July 18 with a rest day on July 19. The quarter-finals will be held between July 20 and July 23; the semi-finals are to be played on July 26 and July 27.

The competition will come to a conclusion on Sunday, July 31 2022.

Who Is Competing For European Success?

A record 47 nations looked to qualify for the Women’s Euros but only 15 will join England in the finals.

The teams which finished top of the nine qualifying groups – and the three runners-up with the best record against the sides first, third, fourth and fifth in their sections – all earned a place.

The other six runners-up played off in April 2021 for the remaining three spots in the 16-team finals.

That means the nations competing at the Women’s Euros are: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, England, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Norway, Russia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Where Are Matches to Be Played?

All fixtures at the Women’s Euros will be played across ten locations in England. The competition will kick off with England playing on July 6 at Old Trafford; their opponents are yet to be announced with the groups still to be drawn.

Matches will also be played at Rotherham’s New York Stadium, Sheffield United’s Bramall Lane, Milton Keynes’ Stadium MK, Brentford’s Community Stadium, Southampton’s St Mary’s Stadium, and Brighton & Hove Albion’s Amex Stadium.

Manchester City’s Academy Stadium and the Leigh Sports Village will also host at least three matches each.

The Final, on July 31, will be played at Wembley Stadium.

Who Is In What Group?

The groups are yet to be determined. The draw is provisionally scheduled for 28 October in Manchester with finalised details, a venue and the procedure to be confirmed.

Teams will be drawn into four groups of four teams.

How Much Are Tickets?

Match entry prices vary as the competition progresses. Tickets for the group stage vary from £10 for Category 3 seats and £15 and £20 for Category 2 and Category 1 seats.

The opening game of the tournament, at Old Trafford, have tickets starting from £15. The most expensive seats, positioned on the touchline running the length of the pitch, are available for £40.

Ticket prices for the semi-finals, to be held at Bramall Lane and Stadium MK, start at £15. The cheapest tickets for the Final at Wembley Stadium are also £15, rising to £50 for the most expensive.

Supporters can purchase tickets from the UEFA website.

Who Are the Bookies’ Favourites?

No betting odds are available as it stands. This will be updated nearer to the competition’s start.

Main Photo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.