Who Will Finish the Premier League Season With the Golden Boot?

Premier League Golden Boot

The return of the Premier League this Wednesday also brings back the battle for the Premier League Golden Boot. Currently, Jamie Vardy is at the top of the pile with 19 goals. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (17), Sergio Agüero (16) and Mohamed Salah (16) follow the Leicester City man closely in the rankings.

Who Will Finish the Premier League Season With the Golden Boot?

Last Season’s Premier League Golden Boot Race

The 2018/19 Premier League season ended with Sadio Mane, Salah and Aubameyang all on 22 goals; they shared the Premier League Golden Boot for the season.

All three of them are in the race for the Golden Boot this year. Yet, Vardy who finished last year’s campaign on 18 goals, has already bettered that 29 matches into this campaign.

It was such a tight race for the Golden Boot last campaign and it looks to be the same this year. There are just five goals between the first and seventh place.

So Far This Season

Thus far the season has provided a few surprises in terms of goalscorers. Danny Ings is currently fifth with 15 goals, his goalscoring looks to be pivotal in how Southampton might avoid the drop.

Both Tammy Abraham and Marcus Rashford have stepped up to the task of being the main source of goals for both Chelsea and Manchester United respectively.

Abraham’s stellar start to the campaign might have slowed down throughout the season but he still sits with 13 goals.

Rashford’s season, however, improved throughout; the United player was unfortunate to pick up an injury in January. He has 14 goals this campaign thus far.

The rest of the challengers for the Golden Boot are the usual suspects.

Sergio Agüero (16) is competing yet again, while the duo of Mane (14) and Salah (16) have 30 goals between them. Vardy (19) and Aubameyang (17) are first and second respectively.

The Remaining Fixtures

While Vardy sits at the top of the pile, it is unlikely that the striker will stay there. He has already overperformed his xG greatly, with it lying at 14.2 currently. While Leicester City’s form had decreased in the months before the restart, so had Vardy’s. He has just two goals in his last eight Premier League matches.

With Manchester United having one of the easiest fixture lists, Rashford could have a chance of sneaking into the race at the top. The Englishman had seven goals in his last eight matches before injury.

Aubameyang is a good bet for many to win the Golden Boot. He has been the main source of goals for Arsenal, with 42.5% of their goals coming from the Gabonese striker. Arsenal have looked an improved team under manager, Mikel Arteta and their number 14 will be sure to make his way onto the scoresheet a fair few more times in the remaining games.

Both Mane and Salah are going to be winning the Premier League this season. The last time the Golden Boot winner also won the league was 2013, where Robin Van Persie scored 26 goals. The Liverpool men will certainly look to challenge, however, with the title already wrapped up, will they be able to keep their extremely high standards until the end of the season?

Manchester City might not win the Premier League for the third time in a row but Agüero could well snatch the Golden Boot. The Citizens have scored four or more goals five times this season. It is likely that there will be many goals scored in their remaining games and Agüero will look to get his second-ever Premier League Golden Boot.

It could be his last season with the Gunners, but Aubameyang is likely to take the Premier League Golden Boot yet again, as he did last season.

Main Photo

Embed from Getty Images