WWE Women’s Tag Team Championship Tournament Bracket and First Round Matches Revealed

Women's Tag Team Championship Tournament

The teams for the eight-team bracket to crown new WWE Women’s Tag Team Champions was revealed on Monday Night RAW tonight. The Women’s Tag Team Titles have been vacant since the last champions, Sasha Banks and Naomi, famously walked out of the company back in the month of May. The walkout took place on May 16, and the titles were vacated on the subsequent RAW, on May 20, where Michael Cole also announced that a tournament would take place to crown new champions. Let’s take a look at the lineup and bracket for the Women’s tag team championship tournament

Women’s Tag Team Championship Tournament Bracket Unveiled

The bracket features a mash-up of teams from Raw, SmackDown, and even NXT 2.0 who are represented by Nikkita Lyons and Zoey Stark, a former NXT Tag Team Champion alongside IYO SKY in her own right. Kai and SKY emerge as the immediate favorites to win the titles as they are coming in hot as part of Bayley’s new faction.

The bracket and first-round matches are as follows:

Left Bracket

  • IYO SKY & Dakota Kai vs. Tamina & Dana Brooke
  • Alexa Bliss & Asuka vs. Nikki ASH and Doudrop

Right Bracket

  • Raquel Rodriguez & Aliyah vs. Xia Li & Shotzi
  • Nikkita Lyons & Zoey Stark vs. Natalya & Sonya Deville

IYO SKY & Dakota Kai defeated Tamina & Dana Brooke, meaning they will move on to the second round. They will face either Alexa Bliss and Asuka or Nikki A.S.H and Doudrop, who meet next week on Raw.

Stay tuned to the Last Word on Pro Wrestling for more on this and other stories from around the world of wrestling, as they develop. You can always count on LWOPW to be on top of the major news in the wrestling world, as well as to provide you with analysis, previews, videos, interviews, and editorials on the wrestling world. You can check out an almost unlimited array of WWE content on the WWE Network and Peacock.