#AndNEW: Io Shirai and Zoey Stark Win NXT Women’s Tag Team Championships

Io Shirai and Zoey Stark NXT

On Tuesday night at NXT Great American Bash, Io Shirai and Zoey Stark defeated Candice LeRae and Indi Hartwell to become the NXT Women’s Tag Team Champions. This is the first reign for both Shirai and Stark, who became the fourth team to hold the tag team championships since their addition to the roster earlier this year.

Io Shirai and Zoey Stark were able to capture the championships following the lights going out. When they turned back on, it was revealed that the charging battery that had been teased for weeks was the one and only Tegan Nox. Nox returned to the brand for the first time since August of last year when Candice LeRae injured her, forcing her to miss nearly a year of action with a torn ACL. Nox had a stare-down with LeRae, leaving it down to Indi Hartwell to try and fight off Shirai and Stark alone. She didn’t have what it took as Stark laid her out to win the titles.

This is a huge accomplishment for Shirai, who now joins Ember Moon and Raquel Gonzalez as the other two women to hold both the NXT Women’s singles and tag team championships. How long will their reign last? We will found out in the coming weeks, maybe even months.

More from LWOS Pro Wrestling

Stay tuned to the Last Word on Pro Wrestling for more on this and other stories from around the world of wrestling, as they develop. You can always count on LWOPW to be on top of the major news in the wrestling world, as well as to provide you with analysis, previews, videos, interviews, and editorials on the wrestling world. You can check out an almost unlimited array of WWE content on the WWE Network and Peacock.

Looking to talk wrestling, pro football, or any number of sports? Head on over to the LWOS Boards to engage in conversation with fellow fans!