Champions League and Europa League to Be Decided in Final Eight Tournament

Champions League Final Eight

The Champions League the Europa League and the Women’s Champions League will all be played out this season. It will take place in Lisbon, Germany and Spain respectively in a final eight format, according to UEFA’s statement.

Champions League and Europa League to Be Decided in Final Eight Tournament

The Champions League

There will be quarter-finals, then semi-finals before a final. These matches will be held at two different stadiums, Estádio do Sport Lisboa e Benfica and the Estádio José Alvalade between the 12th and 23rd of August 2020. This format sets the basis for most of the other European competitions for this season.

Any round of 16 matches still to play could also take place in Lisbon. But this matter is not yet decided; there is still a chance that teams could be allowed to play their own stadia.

Four matches in the last 16 were postponed, including Manchester City and Real Madrid, as well as Bayern Munich versus Chelsea. These ties must be played out before the final phase of the tournament can begin.

All of the matches will kick off at 8 pm BST (9 pm CET).

The original venue for the final, Istanbul will now host the 2021 final instead. All the future venues for finals will be pushed a year back. Wembley will, therefore, host the UEFA Champions League final in 2024.

The Europa League

These finals will be settled between the 10th and 21st of August in Cologne, Duisburg, Dusseldorf and Gelsenkirchen.

Round of 16 matches will kick off either at 5.55 pm BST or 8 pm BST.

For matches where the first leg was postponed, such as AC Milan versus Getafe CF, one single leg will be played to settle the tie.

It is not yet known as to whether clubs will play at their own stadia or in Germany.

The rest of the matches will be played at 8 pm BST.

Similarly to the Champions League, Gdansk, the original host of the final will host the final next year.

Women’s Champions League

All of the final matches will be played in a final eight format in Spain. San Mames Stadium in Bilbao and the Anoeta Stadium in San Sebastian will host these matches.

Quarter-finals take place on the 21st and 22nd at August at 5 pm BST and 7 PM BST respectively. Semi-finals follow on the 25th and 26th of August at 7 pm BST. The trophy will be battled for in the final on the 30th of August at 7 pm BST.

Other European Football

A full press release concerning the UEFA Youth League, UEFA Super Cup, as well as laying the foundations for next year’s European and international football has been published by UEFA.

This also includes details on the Futsal Champions League finals in Barcelona, Futsal World Cup play-offs and Euro 2022 qualifiers.

The Super Cup will no longer be played in Porto. It will be played at the Puskas Arena in Budapest on the 24th September 2020 at 8 pm BST.

There is a new format for the 2019/21 UEFA European Under-21 Championship with the final tournament to be split over two periods.

Main Photo
Embed from Getty Images