2017 MLB Awards Finalists Announced

Spread the love

On Monday the Baseball Writers’ Association of American (BBWAA) announced on the MLB Network the finalists for the 2017 BBWAA Awards. Three players have represented the American League and the National League.

Rookie of the Year will be announced on November 13th at 6:00 p.m ET

American League Rookie of the Year:

Andrew Benintendi (OF, Boston Red Sox) .271, 20 HR, 90 RBI
Aaron Judge (OF, New York Yankees) .284, 52 HR, 114 RBI
Trey Mancini (OF, Baltimore Orioles) .293, 24 HR, 78 RBI

National League Rookie of the Year:

Josh Bell (1B, Pittsburgh Pirates) .255, 26 HR, 90 RBI
Cody Bellinger (1B, Los Angeles Dodgers) .267, 39 HR, 97 RBI
Paul DeJong (SS, St. Louis Cardinals) .285, 25 HR, 65 RBI

Manager of the Year will be announced on November 14th at 6:00 p.m ET

AL Manager of the Year:

Terry Francona (Cleveland Indians) 102-60
A.J. Hinch (Houston Astros) 101-61
Paul Molitor (Minnesota Twins) 85-77

NL Manager of the Year:

Bud Black (Colorado Rockies) 87-75
Torey Lovullo (Arizona Diamondbacks) 93-69
Dave Roberts (Los Angeles Dodgers) 104-58

Cy Young Winner will be announced on November 15th at 6:00 p.m ET

AL Cy Young:

Corey Kluber (Cleveland Indians) 18-4, 2.25 ERA, 265 strikeouts
Chris Sale (Boston Red Sox) 17-8, 2.90 ERA, 308 strikeouts
Luis Severino (New York Yankees) 14-6, 2.98 ERA, 230 strikeouts

NL Cy Young:

Clayton Kershaw (Los Angeles Dodgers) 18-4, 2.31 ERA, 202 strikeouts
Max Scherzer (Washington Nationals) 16-6, 2.51 ERA, 268 strikeouts
Stephen Strasburg (Washington Nationals) 15-4, 2.52 ERA, 204 strikeouts

Most Valuable Player will be announced on November 16th at 6:00 p.m ET

AL Most Valuable Player:

Jose Altuve (2B, Houston Astros) .346, 24 HR, 81 RBI
Aaron Judge (OF, New York Yankees) .284, 52 HR, 114 RBI
Jose Ramirez (3B/2B, Cleveland Indians) .318, 29 HR, 83 RBI

NL Most Valuable Player:

Paul Goldschmidt (1B, Arizona Diamondbacks) .297, 36 HR, 120 RBI
Giancarlo Stanton (OF, Miami Marlins) .281, 59 HR, 132 RBI
Joey Votto (1B, Cincinnati Reds) .320, 36 HR, 100 RBI

A few teams are being represented more than once in the MLB Awards.

The Cleveland Indians and Los Angeles Dodgers have three candidates.
The Boston Red Sox, Houston Astros, Washington Nationals, Arizona Diamondbacks and New York Yankees (Judge being a nominee two times) have two candidates.

Main Photo
Embed from Getty Images