Green Bay’s Corey Roberson named LWOS IFL Coach of the Year

Corey Roberson

With the Indoor Football League’s (IFL) semifinal playoff games wrapped up and in the books, it’s time again for Last Word On Sports annual awards announcement.

Our department is proud to be celebrating our third annual selection announcement for the IFL.

We kept it simple for this week and put out our All-IFL teams on Tuesday before releasing our Individual Awards such as MVP, Coach of the Year, etc. this morning.

As always, thanks for following along to our coverage this season.

Green Bay’s Corey Roberson named LWOS IFL Coach of the Year

Corey RobersonThis season in the IFL, a certain head coach led his team to a 15-0, undefeated season and never failed to score more than 50 points in each game his squad played in.

Another led his squad to its 10th straight championship game in the league.

We could even throw in a third that helped his team to the league semifinals for a third season in a row – a first in the franchise’s history.

However, accross the board, nothing was more impressive than the turnaround job that Corey Roberson has done for the Green Bay Blizzard.

Before Roberson was permanently named head coach of the team last August, the Blizzard had not been to the Indoor Football League playoffs since the 2012 season. It was the longest drought among any active team coming into the 2019 season.

The Blizzard started off the year losing two of their first three games, including a 41-3 wallop against Iowa.

That’s when Roberson and co. kicked it into high gear.

Green Bay finished the season with an 8-3 record in their final 11 games, winning their final three to streak into the playoffs and nearly take down Nebraska.

In fact, if it hadn’t been for a fluke fumble, it would have been the Blizzard traveling to Arizona in the semifinal round of the playoffs.

That’s a spot that has been largely filled by Nebraska over the past few seasons.

No matter if Green Bay can keep this going – and they certainly can – in the future, 2019 was the year of Corey Roberson and the Blizzard, and it was spectacular to finally see it.

Click below for a full list of all of the LWOS IFL Awards:

Coach of the Year: Corey Roberson
Most Valuable Player: Ryan Balentine
Players of the Year: Daquan Neal, Allen Chapman, & Eric Thomas
Honorable Mentions: Lorenzo Brown Jr., Marques Rodgers, & E.J. Hilliard
LWOS First and Second All-IFL Teams

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.