Brown Jr., Rodgers, Hilliard named 2019 LWOS IFL Honorable Mentions

Honorable mentions

As part of the 2019 LWOS Indoor Football League Awards, we gave out an overall MVP as well as our players of the year on each side of the ball on top of special teams.

We wanted to recognize a trio of players that had outstanding seasons, but didn’t earn name awards.

So, this season, we’re announcing Sioux Falls’ Lorenzo Brown Jr., San Diego’s Marques Rodgers, and Quad City’s E.J. Hilliard as honorable mentions to the Player of the Year Awards

Brown Jr., Rodgers, Hilliard named 2019 LWOS IFL Honorable Mentions


LWOS IFL Honorable Mention: Lorenzo Brown Jr., QB – Sioux Falls Storm

Lorenzo Brown Jr.

Lorenzo Brown Jr. was a no-brainer for this award after his play in big games this season.

Despite losing twice to Arizona, Brown Jr. led his Sioux Falls team to not one, but two come from behind wins over the Iowa Barnstormers. 

The most recent came in the United Conference championship game, where Brown Jr.’s play and leadership helped the Storm advance to its 10th straight United Bowl championship game.


LWOS IFL Honorable Mention: Marques Rodgers, WR – San Diego Strike Force 

The wideout known as “hoodie” made our honorable mention list as well, putting up some of the most extraordinary numbers of the group.

Rodgers not only had a strong season receiving, but also tallied the most return yards overall by anyone in the league.

His 2,229 all-purpose yards is a mark that nobody could touch this season.


LWOS IFL Honorable Mention: E.J. Hilliard, QB – Quad City Steamwheelers

Our final honorable mention goes to Quad City quarterback E.J. Hilliard.

Hilliard led the IFL in passing yards per game, almost averaging 200 per contest, and was a pair of touchdowns away from tying for the league lead.


He was essential to Quad City’s first year in the IFL and almost helped them to a berth in the IFL Playoffs.

Click below for a full list of all of the IFL Awards:

Coach of the Year: Corey Roberson
Most Valuable Player: Ryan Balentine
Players of the Year: Daquan Neal, Allen Chapman, & Eric Thomas
LWOS IFL Honorable Mentions: Lorenzo Brown Jr., Marques Rodgers, & E.J. Hilliard
LWOS First and Second All-IFL Teams