Ryan Balentine named 2019 LWOS IFL MVP

Ryan Balentine
Spread the love

Ryan Balentine ended his 2018 Indoor Football League season with a three-touchdown game in the United Bowl, winning the MVP for the championship game.

He picked up right where he left off in 2019.

Ryan Balentine named 2019 LWOS IFL MVP

With the departure of fellow veteran wideout Brady Roland and a new quarterback in Daquan Neal for this season, the pressure was heating up for Balentine to step up.

Coach Dixie Wooten chose to roll with a young squad for the 2019 campaign, meaning the few players returning from last season’s roster would be vastly important to Iowa’s success this year.

Balentine did more than come through.

The former Southern Mississippi star averaged two touchdowns per game, this year. Including his all-purpose scores, Balentine ended the year with 30 trips to the end zone.

Not only was his 28 receiving touchdowns the best mark in the IFL, Balentine also recorded a league high 1,084 yards through receptions, beating the next highest wideout by 159 yards.

His 89 receptions were more than anyone else in the league had by 19.

Balentine’s play helped the Barnstormers advance to the league semifinals for the third straight season – a first in the franchise’s history that dates back to 1995.

Iowa finished the season with a 12-3 record, and were an injury to Neal away from heading to a second-straight championship game.

The No. 1 dominated play no matter where he went whether it was Sioux Falls, Green Bay, or in Des Moines – a place he has called home longer than any other in his long career in the IFL.

All of this helped us select Balentine as our 2019 Last Word On Sports IFL Most Valuable Player as well as an All-IFL First Team selection at wide receiver.

LWOS announced its 2019 All-IFL teams yesterday and has also announced its 2019 Players of the Year as well as honorable mentions.

Coach of the Year: Corey Roberson
Most Valuable Player: Ryan Balentine
Players of the Year: Daquan Neal, Allen Chapman, & Eric Thomas
Honorable Mentions: Lorenzo Brown Jr., Marques Rodgers, & E.J. Hilliard
LWOS First and Second All-IFL Teams