Who Is the Longest Reigning Intercontinental Champion of All Time?

Longest Reigning Intercontinental Champion - Jeff Hardy celevrates with title

The Intercontinental Championship has been one of the few constants in WWE’s history. Many titles have come and gone but this title has a lineage dating back decades. Which begs the question. Who is the longest reigning Intercontinental Champion ever? Well, let’s take a look at some of the longest reigns with the title.

Read More: Who Is the Longest Reigning WWE Champion of All Time?

Note: This list will be based on recognised days as champion which includes tape-delayed days.

Longest Reigning Intercontinental Champion

  1. The Honky Tonk Man – 454 days
  2. Pedro Morales – 424 days
  3. Randy Savage – 414 days
  4. Don Muraco – 384 days
  5. Mr. Perfect – 280 days
  6. The Rock – 264 days
  7. Shelton Benjamin – 244 days
  8. Cody Rhodes – 234 days
  9. Pat Patterson – 232 days
  10. Ken Patera – 230 days

Surprisingly, despite the lengthy history of the IC title a lot of the longest reign clock in at under a year. While it is not likely that the 400-day mark is passed anytime soon it wouldn’t be too shocking to see Gunther put his name in the top 10 before long.

Read More: Pro Wrestling Records: Longest WWE Title Reigns by Championship

If not Gunther, then who could set their name in the history books in future? Is Triple H more likely to have lengthier midcard title reigns than the previous regime? There are a lot of questions to ask about the title, and they’re interesting questions at that.

Stay tuned to the Last Word on Pro Wrestling for more on this and other stories from around the world of wrestling, as they develop. You can always count on LWOPW to be on top of the major news in the wrestling world, as well as to provide you with analysis, previews, videos, interviews, and editorials on the wrestling world. You can check out an almost unlimited array of WWE content on the WWE Network and Peacock.