Texas Rangers Routed By Angels 11-3

Los Angeles Angels 11, Texas Rangers 3

ARLINGTON, Texas, August 3 – The Texas Rangers‘ three-game winning streak has come to an end. In front of a crowd of 19,074 on Tuesday night, the Rangers went up against a Los Angeles Angels lineup that seemed reinvigorated since the night before. The final score of Tuesday’s loss was 11-3. Here is a recap of that game.

Many were encouraged when Texas got things started in the bottom of the second. The newcomer DJ Peters scored on a single, hit by Curtis Terry. It would be Terry’s first career RBI. The Angels tied it up in the third on a Phil Gosselin single that brought David Fletcher in to score. In the same inning, the Angels would score two more. Jo Adell doubled, and that scored Gosselin and Justin Upton. Later in the top of the fifth, Gosselin singled again, bringing in Shohei Ohtani. That made it 4-1. The Angels struck again in the top of the sixth. Jack Mayfield hit a two-run homer to make it 6-1

There’s More

In the bottom of the sixth, Andy Ibanez hit a two-run shot that made it 6-3. That would be the end of the Rangers’ offense. In the top of the seventh, the Phil Gosselin show continued. He singled again, scoring Ohtani once again. Shortly after, Upton scored on a single by Adell. With the game still in the top of 7th, a force out and a throwing error by Isiah Kiner-Falefa made it 10-3. Max Stassi and Gosselin scored on the error. The Angels’ final run came via a sac-fly by Jose Iglesias in the top of the ninth.

Not Lyles’ Night

Right-hander Jordan Lyles got the start for the Rangers. He seemed to be working very slow on the mound, taking his time between pitches. It didn’t help, however. In five and two-thirds innings, he gave up six earned runs on nine hits. He struck out six, walked three, and gave up one home run. He took the loss and his record is now 5-8. Lefty Jose Suarez got the win for the Angels.

Main Photo:
Embed from Getty Images

Players Mentioned:

DJ Peters, Curtis Terry, Phil Gosselin, David Fletcher, Jo Adell, Justin Upton, Shohei Ohtani, Jack Mayfield, Andy Ibanez, Isiah Kiner-Falefa, Max Stassi, Jose Iglesias, Jordan Lyles, Jose Suarez