Baseball Hall of Fame Results Announced

The National Baseball Hall of Fame announced two players have been elected to the class of 2020, Larry Walker and Derek Jeter. Hall of Fame President Tim Mead delivered the results live on MLB Network. This year’s ballot also included returning controversial nominees such as Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens

The HOF Inductees 2020 

Larry Walker has been elected to the Hall of Fame in his 10th and final year of eligibility. Tim Meade reported that Walker reached 75% of votes needed by six votes. Canadian born, Larry Walker, spent his career in Major League Baseball with the Montreal Expos, Colorado Rockies, and St. Louis Cardinals. During this 17 year stretch, Larry accumulated 2,160 hits, 1,311 RBI and 383 HR. Larry won the NL MVP Award in 1997 and was a three-time Batting Champion and a seven-time Gold Glove winner for right field. He was the first Colorado Rockies player to win a Gold Glove. Larry Walker was inducted into the Canadian Baseball Hall of Fame in 2009. 

Derek Jeter did not join former teammate Mariano Rivera in being voted into the Hall of Fame unanimously. Jeter received 396 out of a possible 397 votes, according to Tim Meade, just one vote shy of unanimous. Derek’s career spanned over 20 years, only playing for the New York Yankees. He won the Rookie of the Year Award in 1996. Derek played in nearly an entire season’s worth of playoff games including 13 ALDS and seven ALCS appearances and winning five World Series championships. Derek also appeared in 14 All-Star Games. In 2000 he became the first player in history to be named the All-Star Game and the World Series Most Valuable Player in the same year. Derek Jeter joined the 3000 Hit Club in 2011. He finished his career with 3,465 total hits, placing him 6th all time, and a lifetime BA of .310. 

The Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held in Cooperstown, NY on Sunday, July 26th. The events will air live on MLB Network at 1:30 pm ET.