BREAKING: Jeff Cobb Wins PWG Battle of Los Angeles 2018

The 13th annual Battle of Los Angeles tournament, held by Pro Wrestling Guerrilla (PWG) at The Globe Theater in Los Angeles, concluded it’s three day tournament tonight with the final triple threat elimination match coming down to three unlikely finalists in Bandido, Jeff Cobb and Dragon Gate‘s Shingo Takagi. At the end of the match, it was Jeff Cobb who stood tall as the 2018 winner of PWG’s Battle of Los Angeles.

PWG’s Battle of Los Angeles has become one of the indie scene’s most prestigious – if not the most prestigious – tournaments and industry showcases of the top indie stars (like WALTER, Jeff Cobb, Trevor Lee and David Starr) mixed with indie wrestlers on the bubble of becoming superstars on the indie scene (like Darby Allin, Brody King, Marko Stunt and Puma King) and this year was no different, with it’s most international field yet. This year’s BOLA featured only 10 out of 24 wrestlers from the US (Brody King, Jeff Cobb, Darby Allin, David Starr, DJZ, Joey Janela, Marko Stunt, Sammy Guevara, Timothy Thatcher & Trevor Lee), with the rest representing Canada (PCO), Japan (Shingo, CIMA & T-Hawk), Mexico (Bandido, Flamita, Puma King & Rey Horus), England (Jody Fleisch), Austria (WALTER), Russia (Ilja Dragunov), as well as three from the emerging Australian scene (Robbie Eagles, Jonah Rock & Adam Brooks).

Jeff Cobb won his first PWG BOLA tournament, joining a list that’s seen a who’s who of the indie scene of the past two decades: Davey Richards, CIMA, Low Ki, Kenny Omega, Joey Ryan, Sami Zayn (as El Generico), Adam Cole, Kyle O’Reilly, Zack Sabre Jr., and Marty Scurll are all past winners, with NXT North American Champion Ricochet the only person to win the tournament twice (2014 and 2017).


More Posts

Send Us A Message