Today in Hockey History: Colorado Avalanche Ray Bourque Oldest Cup Final Scorer

Ray Bourque

During the NHL’s hiatus, we at the Last Word on Hockey are going to look back at each date’s historical significance to the game. We’ll remember the moments that shaped the sport of hockey that happened on this day. Here’s our look at this date in hockey history for May 31st, featuring Ray Bourque.

Today in Hockey History

Ray Bourque Oldest to Score in Cup Final

2001: The Colorado Avalanche defenceman makes his last Stanley Cup playoff goal a memorable one. Bourque tallies 31 seconds into a 3-1 Game 3 win over the New Jersey Devils in the Final. He becomes the oldest player to score a goal in the Final at 40-years- old.

His goal past Martin Brodeur is his 41st and final postseason marker of his career. Bourque retires at the end of the series after winning the Stanley Cup that’s evaded him his entire career.

Other Notable Events

1961: Montreal Canadiens great Doug Harvey signs a deal with the New York Rangers to become player/coach. Harvey wins the Norris Trophy in the 1961-62 season and the Blueshirts make the playoffs.

1987: The Edmonton Oilers win the Stanley Cup for the third time in four seasons. Edmonton beats the Philadelphia Flyers, 3-1, in Game 7 at Northlands Coliseum. Flyers’ goalie Ron Hextall wins the Conn Smythe to become the fourth player from a losing team to do so.

1994: The Vancouver Canucks win their first Cup Final game in franchise history. Greg Adams scores 19:26 of overtime as they beat the Rangers 3-2 in Game 1.

2002: Dominik Hasek gets his fifth shutout of the same post-season in a 7-0 Game 7 win for the Detroit Red Wings. He sets a single-season record for shutouts with the win over Colorado.

2003: Jean-Sebastien Giguere extends his overtime shutout streak to 167:48 as the Mighty Ducks of Anaheim beat the Devils, 3-2, in Game 3. The late Ruslan Salei scores 6:59 of OT to give the Ducks the victory.

2004: Brad Richards scores a single-season record seventh game-winning goal as the Tampa Bay Lightning win Game 4 of the Final. Richards scores early in the first period in a 1-0 win over the Calgary Flames.

2011: The Atlanta Thrashers officially move to Winnipeg to become the Jets. True North Sports & Entertainment buys the club to bring hockey back to Manitoba. The original Jets moved to Arizona to become the Coyotes in 1996.

2017: Jake Guentzel scores twice as the Pittsburgh Penguins beat the Nashville Predators, 4-1, in Game 2 of the final.

Happy Birthday to You

1903: Tiny Thompson

1909: Art Coulter

1957: Jim Craig

1960: Greg Adams

1969: Jeff Odgers

1990: Erik Karlsson

1993: Joel Armia

1996: Jared McCann