Sports. Honestly. Since 2011

All Premier League and EFL Fixtures Postponed as a Mark of Respect Following the Death of Queen Elizabeth II.

Matches postponed after Queen's passing

The tragic passing of Queen Elizabeth II has shocked the nation and left many questioning how best to mourn the longest-serving Monarch in British history.

The Premier League and EFL have decided that the best way to do so is to postpone their fixtures for the time being.

English Football Has Been Postponed After Tragic Passing of the Queen

Premier League Football Postponed

The postponements will be immediate, with this weekend’s fixtures being cancelled. The Premier League and English Football League alike will come to a standstill in order to appropriately pay their respects to the late Queen Elizabeth II.

The Premier League fixtures that have been postponed this weekend are as follows:

  • 10th September Fulham v Chelsea
  • 10th September A.F.C. Bournemouth v Brighton
  • 10th September  Leicester City v Aston Villa
  • 10th September Liverpool v Wolverhampton
  • 10th September Southampton v Brentford
  • 10th September Manchester City v Tottenham Hotspur
  • 11th September Arsenal v Everton
  • 11th September West Ham United v Newcastle United
  • 11th September  Crystal Palace v Manchester United
  • 12th September Leeds United v Nottingham Forest

With the world’s first December World Cup later on in the year, it is likely that these cancellations will mean that the football schedule in England will get tighter to ensure that all games are still played. Further cancellations could come on the weekend of the Queen’s State Funeral.

What Will Happen to European Football?

It is highly unlikely that UEFA will follow suit and postpone any fixtures that involve British sides. Instead, European football could see tributes in the form of black armbands and minute silences.

They have no obligation to do so and risk facing backlash from other countries if they choose to postpone these games. As a result, it seems as though British clubs will still be required to participate in their European fixtures.

These clubs include Manchester City, Liverpool, Chelsea, Tottenham, Arsenal, Manchester United, West Ham United, Rangers, Celtic, Hearts and Shamrock Rovers.

Our thoughts go out to The Royal Family and everyone across the world mourning the loss of HM Queen Elizabeth II.





More Posts