Basketball Hall of Fame 2020 Inductees Announced

Spread the love

The coronavirus has canceled the Final Four which would be played today. Among the festivities during the Final Four is the announcement of the Basketball Hall of Fame inductees. They were still announced today. Among the names announced were Kobe Bryant, Tim Duncan, Kevin Garnett, Tamika Catchings, Kim Mulkey, Barbara Stevens, Eddie Sutton, Rudy Tomjanovich and Patrick Baumann.

Basketball Hall of Fame 2020 Inductees Announced on Saturday

Tim Duncan, Kobe Bryant, and Kevin Garnett were automatic bids in the minds of everybody. Bryant had an illustrious career in which he won five championships, is currently fourth on the scoring list and has won two Finals MVPs. Garnett has won one championship, a Defensive Player of the Year award in 2007-08 and an MVP during the 2003-04 season. Duncan won five championships, MVP twice and was a Finals MVP three times.

Tamika Catchings played 14 seasons in the WNBA. She averaged 16.1 points, 7.3 rebounds, and 3.3 assists. She won the MVP in 2011 and is a 10-time All-Star. Kim Mulkey is the Baylor women’s head coach. She is the person in NCAA women’s basketball to win a title as a player, assistant coach and a head coach.

Barbara Stevens is a division two women’s basketball coach. She is the fifth NCAA women’s basketball coach to win 1,000 games. Eddie Sutton is a former NCAA men’s college coach. He took four different teams to the NCAA tournament. He reached the Final Four three times; once with Arkansas in 1978 and twice with Oklahoma State in 1995 and 2004.

Rudy Tomjanovich is a lifetime Houston Rocket. He spent 34 consecutive seasons with the team as a player and a coach. He won two championships as a player. Globally recognized for his contributions to basketball Baumann passed away in 2018. He was the President of the Global Association of International Sports Federations and Secretary-General of the International Basketball Federation.

Set to take place on August 29th the Hall of Fame induction ceremony will feature speeches for these inductees.

Main Photo:
Embed from Getty Images