Sports. Honestly. Since 2011

Corbin Carroll, Gunnar Henderson win Rookie of the Year

Major League Baseball celebrated its youngest and brightest stars on Monday by announcing the two 2023 Rookie of the Year winners. Corbin Carroll of the Arizona Diamondbacks won in the National League and Gunnar Henderson of the Baltimore Orioles won in the American League.

The Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA) vote for the MLB Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award winners in each league. Winners were announced on Monday on MLB Network.

Rookies of the Year Carroll, Henderson Carried Their Teams

Corbin Carroll

The 23-year-old made his debut last season and produced a 132 OPS+ in 32 games. That perforce from the top prospect led to an eight-year, $111 million extension signed in March. Arizona clearly felt Carroll was the right player to lead the team back to contention. Carroll proved them right.

In his first full season, Carroll produced a 5.4 WAR in 155 games while displaying all five tools. The 2023 All-Star hit 25 homers, 10 triples, and 30 doubles with an .868 OPS. He used his elite speed to steal 54 bags in 59 attempts and produce 4 Outs Above Average in the outfield. The speedster stole the most bases in a season in MLB history by a rookie that hit 20 or more home runs.

Carroll was an important piece on a resurgent Diamondbacks team that won the NL Pennant. In 17 playoff games, he hit .273/.364/.409 with 2 homers 10 RBI, and 11 runs scored. With 30 first place votes, the outfielder won unanimously while Kodai Senga from the New York Mets placed second and James Outman from the Los Angeles Dodgers finished third. Carroll is the first player in Diamondbacks history to win the award.

Gunnar Henderson

If Adley Rutschman is the face of the new Orioles, then Henderson is an important sidekick. Like Carroll, Henderson made his debut last season and performed well in over 30 games. In 2023, his official rookie season, Henderson produced a 6.2 WAR season in 150 games.

The 23-year-old hit 28 home runs with 82 RBI and 100 runs scored. He earned his first Silver Slugger award by slugging .489 with a .814 OPS. The natural shortstop split time between short and third base last year. His 10 Defensive Runs Saved (DRS) at shortstop and 3 DRS at third shows that Henderson is not just an impact bat.

Henderson was the unanimous winner, getting all 30 first-place votes. Cleveland Guardians pitcher Tanner Bibee finished second while Triston Casas of the Red Sox finished third. The former second-round pick becomes the first Oriole to win the award since Gregg Olson in 1989.

Photo Credit: © Joe Camporeale-USA TODAY Sports


More Posts

Send Us A Message