Sports. Honestly. Since 2011

Texas Rangers Win Their First World Series Title

The Texas Rangers lost 102 games two years ago, and the franchise looked lost. Two years later, after making big moves by acquiring stars such as Marcus Semien, Corey Seager, Jacob deGrom, Nathan Eovaldi, Mitch Garver and hiring Bruce Bochy as their new manager. As well as other contributors like Jonah Heim, Jordan Montgomery, and Josh Jung. In addition, a player like Adolis García was signed off waivers and became a star and an RBI machine in the playoffs. Led by general manager Chris Young and his vision, the Rangers made the playoffs and are now World Series champions for the first time.


Texas Rangers Win First World Series Title

Rangers Beat The D-Backs In Five Games

The Rangers entered the World Series against the Cinderella story Arizona Diamondbacks, who won 84 games in the regular season.  Despite that, they proved many people wrong and upset the Milwaukee Brewers, Los Angeles Dodgers, and Philadelphia Phillies to get to the Fall Classic. Arizona was looking for another upset against the Rangers, but Texas proved to be too good and too hot. The Rangers slugged their way to a title by scoring 26 runs in five games. While pitchers such as Eovaldi and Montgomery stepped up, their offense was the driving force for them. Garcia slugged 22 RBIs in the postseason before an injury in game 3 of the World Series shut him down for the rest of the series. In Game 1, however, Garcia left his mark on the 2023 Fall Classic and set the tone for the Rangers with a walk-off home run.


It wasn’t just Garcia, as the Rangers prized shortstop would also step up.

Corey Seager Wins Second World Series MVP

Seager was brought to Texas to bring World Series experience to the Rangers after he helped the Dodgers win a title in 2020. Winning World Series MVP in the process. Seager would give the Rangers exactly what they were looking for in this World Series when they signed him. Seager hit three home runs in the series, including a game-tying two-run home run in the bottom of the 9th inning of Game 1.


He was awarded his second World Series MVP honors for his performance. He is the fourth player to win the award multiple times. The others were Bob Gibson, Sandy Koufax, and Reggie Jackson. Seager and Jackson are the only players to do it for multiple teams.


Road Warriors

The Rangers did something improbable in baseball by going undefeated on the road in this postseason. Texas went 11-0. They traveled to Tampa Bay, Baltimore, Houston, and Phoenix and didn’t lose once. That includes winning Games 6 and 7 in Houston down 3-2 in the ALCS and winning three in a row at Arizona to win the title.


World Champs

The Rangers lost the American League West on the last day of the season to the Astros and had to take a Wild Card spot. They suffered a heartbreaking loss to the Astros in Game 5 of the ALCS. They persevered and battled through it and are now World Series champions for the first time in their 63-year history. Dallas sports has seen the Cowboys, Mavericks, and Stars all bring championships to the city. The Rangers can finally join that group.

Main Photo Credits: Rob Schumacher/The Republic / USA TODAY NETWORK


More Posts

Send Us A Message