Jose Abreu, Freddie Freeman Win Hank Aaron Award

Hank Aaron Award
Spread the love

Jose Abreu of the Chicago White Sox and Freddie Freeman of the Atlanta Braves were named winners of the 2020 Hank Aaron Award in the American and National leagues, respectively, on Tuesday.

The award goes to the player in each league with the most outstanding offensive performance. It is the first time either player has won the honor. Abreu and Freeman, who both play first base, also were their respective league MVPs in 2020. It is also the fourth time both MVPs won the Hank Aaron Award, which was first handed out in 1999.

All About Abreu

It has been an offseason full of awards for Abreu, who also won a Silver Slugger for the third time in his seven-year career. The 33-year-old Abreu posted a slash line of .317/.370/.617, including 19 homers and an AL-best 60 RBIs in 60 games.

The Cuban slugger also led the league in slugging percentage and also was tops in the AL with 76 hits in leading the White  Sox to a wild-card playoff berth. He is the first Cuban-born player to win the Hank Aaron Award. The White Sox lost in the AL Wild Card round to the Oakland Athletics.

Freeman’s Best

Freeman, who turned 31 in September, had a slash line of .341/.383/.640. Like Abreu, Freeman also pulled off the MVP-Silver Slugger-Hank Aaron Award trifecta. It was the second straight season for Freeman as the Silver Slugger.

He hit 13 home runs with 53 RBIs in 60 games in the best offensive performance of his 11-year career. Freeman also led the NL with 51 runs scored and 23 doubles as the Braves won the NL East for the third consecutive season.

Main Image
Embed from Getty Images