Sports. Honestly. Since 2011

Hall of Fame’s 2018 Ford C. Frick Award Ballot Announced

The National Baseball Hall of Fame has announced the ballot for the 2018 Ford C. Frick Award, their annual broadcasting excellence award.

Hall of Fame’s 2018 Ford C. Frick Award Ballot Announced

This year’s slate of eight Candidates are:

Buddy Blatiner who spent many years in national television booths in the early days of television with Liberty, Mutual, ABC and CBS.

Joe Buck, the long-time Emmy wining FOX Sports lead play-by-play announcer, as well as broadcaster with the St. Louis Cardinal organization since 1989.  And is the son of Frick Award Winner Jack Buck.

Bob Costas, long time voice of baseball for NBC Sports and the MLB Network.  Mostly play-by-play and desk show anchor, the Emmy winning Costas has been a big part of the baseball on television family since the early 1980s.

Dizzy Dean, already a Hall of Fame pitcher, he spent 24 years broadcasting, mostly for the St. Louis Browns, and on a national stage for CBS’ Game of The Week from 1955-1965.  Became a “National Treasure” due to his way of mangling the English language and home spun way of telling stories.

Don Drysdale, Hall of Fame pitcher spent 23 years in various booths, including his final six seasons with the Los Angeles Dodgers.  Also did national telecasts with ABC from 1977-1987.

Al Michaels, like Costas was the face of a network’s sports department, ABC to be specific where he contributed to baseball broadcasts from 1976-1989, as well as the ill-fated The Baseball Network from 1995-1996.  Also spent time with the Cincinnati Reds from 1971-1973.

Joe Morgan, Hall of Fame second baseman spent 25 years calling baseball games on TV, most notably with NBC from 1994-2000, and ESPN from 1990-2010.  Also worked games with Oakland Athletics and San Francisco Giants.

Pee Wee Reese, the Hall of Fame shortstop spent 11 seasons on television from 1960-1969, mostly as Dean’s partner on CBS, as well as NBC’s Game of The Week package as well.

The ballot was created by a subcommittee within the electorate of the 11 living Frick winners and four historians of baseball broadcasting.

The award winner will be announced at the Winter Meetings in Lake Buena Vista, Florida on December 13th, and will be presented on July 28th in Cooperstown during Hall of Fame Induction Weekend.

Main Photo
Embed from Getty Images


More Posts

Send Us A Message