2017 Audi MLS Cup Playoffs Set In Stone

2017 MLS Cup

The Audi 2017 MLS Cup Playoffs are set in stone and ready to roll. Twelve teams, six from each conference, will begin their journey to glory for a chance to lift the MLS Cup on December 9th. Will the Seattle Sounders represent Cascadia to win their second straight title, or will Toronto FC win their first after clinching the Supporter’s Shield?

2017 Audi MLS Cup Playoffs Set In Stone

After the New York Red Bulls thrashed the Vancouver Whitecaps to seal their spot in the post-season, the Eastern Conference is ready to roll. Matches from here on out are all about seeding.

Toronto claimed first place in the East, with New York City FC following behind. The bottom four in Atlanta United, Chicago Fire, Columbus Crew SCand the Red Bulls, have a chance to better their seeding places with their remaining games.

As for the Western Conference, everybody knew that only one team secured their spot in the post-season, and that was the Vancouver WhitecapsTeams from the West that also secured their spot in the playoffs are the Portland Timbers, Seattle, Sporting Kansas Cityand the Houston Dynamo

Joining them after Decision Day will be the San Jose Earthquakes after their 3-2 win over Minnesota United FC.

How This All Plays Out

Securing the first two spots in a conference, means you have an automatic into the Conference Semi-Finals. Congratulations NYC and Toronto FC of the East; Portland and Vancouver of the West.

Now, seeds three and six, four and five will play wild-card matches to see who will advance to the semi-finals. If the game is tied after regulation, extra time will commence. If still tied, penalty shootout.

Wednesday, October 25, 2017:
Chicago Fire vs. New York Red Bulls 8:30 PM EST
Vancouver Whitecaps FC vs. San Jose Earthquakes 10:30 PM EST

Thursday, October 26, 2017:
Houston Dynamo vs. Sporting KC 9:30 PM EST
Atlanta United FC vs. Columbus Crew SC 7:30 PM EST

Yeah, we’re looking at you Sporting KC and Portland. 2015 was a blast, no?

Note that the semi-finals are two legs. Whoever has the most goals on aggregate after the second leg will go through. The road goal tiebreaker determines the winner if still tied after aggregate. If still tied, the teams will play two 15 minute halves of extra time. No winner? Penalty shootout to decide who advances.

After that’s all said and done, the top two teams from each conference will play the conference finals. Same rules apply as the Semi-Finals.

One team from each conference will meet at the higher seeds stadium in the 2017 Audi MLS Cup Final.