Adrian Peterson Signs With Tennessee Titans

Adrian Peterson
Spread the love

Longtime NFL veteran running back Adrian Peterson signed a one-year,  contract with the Tennessee Titans. Peterson spent the 2020 season with the Detroit Lions.

Adrian Peterson, Tennessee Titans, Agree to Contract

Peterson continued to build his Hall of Fame resume whilst playing for the fifth team of his NFL career in 2020. After completing his 14th season in the league, Peterson is now fifth in rushing yards and fourth in rushing touchdowns all-time. 

Detroit signed Peterson to a one-year contract prior to the 2020 season. The Washington Football Team cut the running back as part of the team’s post-training camp cuts. Peterson rushed for 604 yards and seven rushing touchdowns for the Lions in his age 35 season. 

With Washington in 2018 and 2019, Peterson racked up 1,052 and 898 rushing yards respectively. His 2018 campaign earned Peterson the eighth one thousand yard rushing season of his career. Peterson’s time in Washington came after the former league MVP split time between the New Orleans Saints and Arizona Cardinals during the 2017 season. 

New Orleans signed Peterson to a two-year, $7 million contract in April 2017. However, after failing to earn playing time with the Saints he was traded to the Cardinals for a conditional sixth-round draft pick. He started six games for Arizona before a neck injury ended his season in mid-December. He was released the following March. 

Peterson is most remembered for his ten seasons with the Minnesota Vikings. In 2012 with Minnesota, Peterson became only the seventh running back in NFL history to rush for over 2,000 yards in a season. His performance earned Peterson the 2012 NFL MVP Award as he led the Vikings to the postseason. 

Minnesota selected Peterson with the seventh overall pick in the first round of the 2007 NFL Draft. He was named NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year in 2007. Peterson owns Vikings franchise records for rushing yards and rushing touchdowns in a career. Peterson also holds the NFL record for most rushing yards in a game, 296, and was named a unanimous selection to the NFL 2010’s All-Decade Team. 

Main photo:
Embed from Getty Images