Today in Hockey History: John Carlson, USA Wins 2010 World Juniors

John Carlson

Normally we’d be in the closing in on the mid-way point of the regular season, however, we’re in a different world. Last Word on Hockey is still going to look back at each date’s historical significance to the game. We’ll remember the moments that shaped the sport of hockey that happened on this day. Here’s our look at this date in hockey history for January 5th, featuring John Carlson.

Today in Hockey History

John Carlson Gets OT Winner at 2010 World Juniors

2010: The American defenceman scores an overtime goal to help the United States stun the favoured Canadians, 6-5. It was the second goal of the game for the future Washington Capitals standout. Tournament MVP Jordan Eberle scored twice in the third period to help send the game to overtime for Canada.

The gold medal was the second for the United States and first since 2004. America’s win prevented Canada from winning its sixth straight gold medal.

Other Notable Events

1957: CBS broadcasts the first NHL game in the United States between the New York Rangers and Chicago Blackhawks. The Rangers win 4-1 in the first of a series of Sunday afternoon telecasts.

1974: Boston Bruins winger John Bucyk becomes the oldest player to score four goals in a 6-2 win over the New York Islanders. Phil Esposito gets three assists for Boston in the win.

1982: St. Louis Blues rookie Joe Mullen scores two goals in eight seconds in a 4-1 victory over the Minnesota North Stars. Mullen gets four goals and two assists for the Calgary Flames in an 8-6 win over the Los Angeles Kings seven years later.

1984: The Quebec Nordiques gets goals for Peter Stastny, Anton Stastny and Marian Stastny in an 8-3 win over Boston.

1999: Pittsburgh Penguins goalie Tom Barrasso becomes the highest scoring goalie with two assists in a 5-1 victory over Calgary. He is still the top offensive goalie with 48 assists.

2004: Patrick O’Sullivan scores late in the third period to give the United States its first World Junior title. The U.S. beats Canada, 4-3, in the final in Helsinki. O’Sullivan scores twice for the Americans while Nigel Dawes gets two for Canada.

2006: Canada gets its 12th gold at the World Juniors with a 5-0 shutout of Russia in Vancouver. Michael Blunden registered two goals while Justin Pogge made 35 saves.

2011: Artemi Panarin scores twice as Russia gets gold at the World Juniors with a 5-3 win over Canada in Buffalo.

2020: Akil Thomas scored with under four minutes left to give Canada the gold with a 4-3 win over Russia in Ostrava, Czech Republic.

Happy Birthday to You

1958: Jiri Hrdina

1960: Tim Kerr

1961: Basil McRae

1968: Joe Juneau

1975: Mike Grier

1979: Kyle Calder

1988: Eddie Lack

1994: Zemgus Girgensons; Matt Grzelcyk

Embed from Getty Images