Today in Hockey History: Team USA Wins World Cup of Hockey

World Cup of Hockey

Hockey is going strong, but we at Last Word on Hockey are still going to look back at each date’s historical significance to the game. We’ll remember the moments that shaped the sport of hockey that happened on this day. Here’s our look at this date in hockey history for September 14th, featuring the 1996 World Cup of Hockey.

Today in Hockey History

U.S. Wins World Cup of Hockey

1996: The Americans rally with four third-period goals to beat Canada, 5-2, in Game 3 of the tournament. Adam Foote gives the Canadians a 2-1 lead, but Brett Hull and Tony Amonte score 43 seconds apart. Derian Hatcher and Adam Deadmarsh seal the deal for Team USA.

It’s the first major tournament win for the United States since the 1980 Winter Olympics. New York Rangers goalie Mike Richter is named the tournament’s MVP. The event served as a replacement for the old Canada Cup.


Other Notable Events

1972: The expansion New York Islanders open up their first training camp in Peterborough, Ontario. New York would set futility records with the fewest wins (12) and points (30) in a season.

1976: The St. Louis Blues swap Hall of Famers out at the head coach position. Emile Francis becomes the team’s 10th bench boss replacing Leo Boivin.

1979: The Edmonton Oilers sign defenceman Charlie Huddy to a contract. He is a member of  three Stanley Cup-winners in his time with the club.

2000: Twin brothers Henrik Sedin and Daniel Sedin make their debut for the Vancouver Canucks. The pair play in the Canucks’ 5-3 win over MoDo at the NHL Challenge in Stockholm. Daniel gets a goal and two assists on a line centred by Henrik against their old team. Vancouver wins the tournament with a 2-1 overtime win over Djurgarden with Daniel getting the game-winner.

2004: Shane Doan scores the game-winning goal to help Canada beat Finland, 3-2, in the World Cup of Hockey. Doan helps Canada score on the first shot of each period to take the title. He beats Finland goalie Miikka Kiprusoff 34 seconds into the third to get the victory. Vincent Lecavalier has seven points in the tournament and is named MVP.

2018: Detroit Red Wings captain Henrik Zetterberg has to step away from hockey due to a back condition. The Swede was team captain since 2012-13 and won the Conn Smythe in 2008. He is fifth in team history in goals (337), assists (623) and points (960), and sixth in games played (1,082). Detroit originally took Zetterberg in the seventh round, 210th overall of the 1999 NHL Draft.

Happy Birthday to You

1932: Harry Sinden

1950: Orest Kindrachuk

1962: Tom Kurvers

1982: Petr Prucha

1986: David Desharnais

1989: Alex Killorn