Today in Hockey History: 2018-19 St Louis Blues Win Cup

The likely leaders of the 2019-20 Central Division, the St. Louis Blues, celebrate their 2019 Stanley Cup win; 2018-19 St Louis Blues.

During the NHL’s hiatus, we at the Last Word on Hockey are going to look back at each date’s historical significance to the game. We’ll remember the moments that shaped the sport of hockey that happened on this day. Here’s our look at this date in hockey history for June 12th, featuring the 2018-19 St Louis Blues.

Today in Hockey History

Ryan O’Reilly Helps 2018-19 St Louis Blues Win First Title

2019: The Blues win their first Stanley Cup in franchise history with a 4-1 Game 7 win over the Boston Bruins. Ryan O’Reilly gets a goal and an assist for the Blues. Alex Pietrangelo, Brayden Schenn, and Zach Sanford also add goals for the Blues. Rookie goalie Jordan Binnington made 32 saves to tie a record for wins in a postseason with 16.

O’Reilly finishes with eight goals and 23 points in 26 games. St. Louis had reached the Final in their first three seasons (1968-70), but were swept all three times. Tuukka Rask made 16 saves, and Matt Grzelcyk scored for Boston.

Other Notable Events

1958: The Detroit Red Wings name Gordie Howe the team’s new captain. Howe serves as captain for the next four seasons before he’s named an assistant coach.

1979: Bobby Orr becomes the youngest elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame. The 31-year-old’s three-year waiting period is waived after injuries limit his last three seasons. He led the league in scoring in 1974-75 with 135 points and won eight straight Norris Trophies.

1985: Future Pittsburgh Penguins legend Mario Lemieux wins the Calder Trophy for the league’s top rookie. Super Mario gets 43 goals and 100 points in inaugural campaign.

1989: Edmonton Oilers general manager Glen Sather steps down as the team’s coach. John Muckler takes over for Sather.

1999: Joe Nieuwendyk nets two goals to tie a postseason record held by Joe Sakic with his sixth game-winning goal in a year. The former Cornell product gets both goals in the Dallas Stars 2-1 Game 3 win over the Buffalo Sabres.

2009: Maxime Talbot scores both goals as the Penguins rally to beat the Red Wings, 2-1, in Game 7. Marc-Andre Fleury makes 23 saves for the Penguins, including a sprawling stop on Nicklas Lidstrom. Evgeni Malkin earns the Conn Smythe for playoff MVP.

2013: Andrew Shaw scores 12:08 of the third overtime as the Chicago Blackhawks beat the Bruins, 4-3, in Game 1. Shaw’s goal ends the fifth-longest Cup Final game in league history.

2016: Pittsburgh wins its fourth Stanley Cup with a 3-1 Game 6 win over the San Jose Sharks. Kris Letang scores the game-winning goal and Sidney Crosby picks up the Conn Smythe Trophy.

Happy Birthday to You

1912: Bill Cowley

1928: Paul Ronty

1949: Marc Tardif

1964: Doug Brown

1969: Mathieu Schneider

1977: Wade Redden

1989: Emma Eliasson