A look back at the New World Order 20 years later

It has been 20 years since Hulk Hogan famously dropped a leg onto the neck of Macho Man Randy Savage at World Championship Wrestling’s Bash at the Beach on July 7th, 1996.

The leg drop answered questions as to what Kevin Nash and Scott Hall were doing there, and who was the third man. This set the stage for pro wrestling in North America to change forever with WCW moving right into the starting position to become the first company to dominate the World Wrestling Federation since Vince McMahon destroyed the territories to form the first national promotion.

Two years ago for the 18th anniversary, Last Word on Sports covered the New World Order in a 10 part series covering Scott Hall, Kevin Nash, Hulk Hogan, the origins of the New World Order, its rise and its fall, and the potential future to bring it back to the WWE.

You can read every part here:

Part I: The Bad Guy Brings a War http://old.lastwordonsports.com/2014/05/27/nwo-18-part-bad-guy-brings-war/
Part II: New World Origin http://old.lastwordonsports.com/2014/06/04/nwo-18-part-ii-new-world-origin/
Part III: The Adjective Player http://old.lastwordonsports.com/2014/06/12/nwo-18-part-iii-adjective-player/
Part IV: Strength in Numbers http://old.lastwordonsports.com/2014/06/19/nwo-18-part-iv-strength-numbers/
Part V: The Third Man http://old.lastwordonsports.com/2014/06/27/nwo-18-part-v-third-man/
Part VI: Imitation World Order http://old.lastwordonsports.com/2014/07/04/nwo-18-part-vi-imitation-world-order/
Part VII: Bash at the Beach 1996 http://old.lastwordonsports.com/2014/07/10/nwo-18-part-vii-bash-beach-1996/
Part VIII: Brand Split http://old.lastwordonsports.com/2014/07/17/nwo-18-part-viii-brand-split/
Part IX: The Fall http://old.lastwordonsports.com/2014/07/27/nwo-18-part-ix-fall/
Part X: Brave New World Order? http://old.lastwordonsports.com/2014/08/11/nwo-18-part-x-brave-new-world-order/

Remember, when you’re nWo, you’re nWo 4 Life.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.