Sports. Honestly. Since 2011

World Cup Announcements: Team Europe Roster Features Diversity

Team Europe was the fifth team to announce their roster for the 2016 World Cup of Hockey on Wednesday.

General manager Miroslav Satan, a Slovakian ex-NHLer, released the names of the first 16 players who will be a part of the European team.

World Cup Announcements: Team Europe Roster

This team selection is very effective in representing as many of the available European countries as possible. In total, seven different nations will have one of their players on the roster. Out of 16 players, one each hails from Slovenia, Austria, and Norway. There are two German players, two Swiss players, and four Danish players. Slovakia is the most represented country on the roster, with five players.

The team will have a strong veteran defensive group, headlined by Zdeno Chara, Dennis Seidenberg, and Roman Josi. The forward lineup is perhaps deeper though, with some of the NHL’s best two-way players in Anze Kopitar and Marian Hossa. There is likely some concern among fans about whether they will be able to score, as a more defensive-minded team, and about whether goaltenders Jaroslav Halak and Frederik Andersen will match up to those of other countries.

The most glaring omission is Marian Gaborik, currently out injured, who will likely be added to the team at a later date, as Team Europe management monitors his recovery. Gaborik will add a scoring touch to the first forward line.

Representing Team Europe will be:

Frederik Andersen, Anaheim Ducks (Denmark), G
Jaroslav Halak, New York Islanders (Slovakia), G
Zdeno Chara, Boston Bruins (Slovakia), D
Roman Josi, Nashville Predators (Switzerland), D
Dennis Seidenberg, Boston Bruins (Germany), D
Andrej Sekera, Edmonton Oilers (Slovakia), D
Mark Streit, Philadelphia Flyers (Switzerland), D
Mikkel Boedker, Colorado Avalanche (Denmark), F
Leon Draisaitl, Edmonton Oilers (Germany), F
Jannik Hansen, Vancouver Canucks (Denmark), F
Marian Hossa, Chicago Blackhawks (Slovakia), F
Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings (Slovenia), F
Frans Nielsen, New York Islanders (Denmark), F
Tomas Tatar, Detroit Red Wings (Slovakia), F
Thomas Vanek, Minnesota Wild (Austria), F
Mats Zuccarello, New York Rangers (Norway), F

All eight teams competing in the World Cup of Hockey 2016 are announcing their rosters of at least 16 players throughout the day. Below is schedule of the roster announcements:

Team Finland: 4 a.m.

Team Czech Republic: 11 a.m.

Team Sweden: 1:15 p.m.

Team Europe: 4:30 p.m.

Team North America: 5:15 p.m.

Team Canada: 6:05 p.m.

Main Photo:



More Posts

Send Us A Message