World Cup Announcements: Team USA Roster Features Strong Goaltending, Defence

USA hockey has named their preliminary 16-man roster for the World Cup of Hockey, which is to start play in Septemeber. Team USA is bringing a sense of continuity from the 2014 Sochi Olympics, as 12 players on the preliminary roster took part in the 2014 games. The team will also be coached by the winningest American-born coach in NHL history and current Columbus Blue Jackets head coach, John Tortorella.

There are a few big names for the USA, like that of former Conn Smythe trophy winner and playoff MVP, Jonathon Quick of the Los Angeles Kings, as well as the NHL’s leading scorer Patrick Kane. There are a few names that pop up as question marks to some and they include Detroit Red Wings forward, Justin Abdelkader. Despite the lack of agreement on the inclusion and exclusion of certain names, this is surely a talented roster that can challenge to win the competition come September.

Behind Quick, the team has solid goaltending with Cory Schneider and Ben Bishop.  The defence is led by Rangers captain Ryan McDonagh, Minnesota Wild stud Ryan Suter, and high scoring Winnipeg Jets defenceman Dustin Byfuglien.

The forward group features a number of familiar names in addition to Kane.  T.J. Oshie, Max Pacioretty, Derek Stepan, Zach Parise, are recognizable names in a group full of international experience.

Some names that are questionable omissions and could be added in June include Phil Kessel, James Van Riemsdyk, Kyle Okposo and Bobby Ryan.

USA Hockey is looking to improve upon their fourth place finish in the Sochi Olympics

Team USA roster is as follows:

G Jonathon Quick, Los Angeles Kings
G Cory Schneider, New Jersey Devils
G Ben Bishop, Tampa Bay Lightnin
D Dustin Byfuglien, Winnipeg Jets
D John Carlson, Washington Capitals
D Ryan McDonagh, New York Rangers
D Ryan Suter, Minnesota Wild
F Justin Abdelkader, Detroit Red Wings
F Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks
F Ryan Kesler, Anaheim Ducks
F T.J. Oshie, Washington Capitals
F Max Pacioretty, Montreal Canadiens
F Zach Parise, Minnesota Wild
F Joe Pavelski, San Jose Sharks
F Derek Stepan, New York Rangers
F Blake Wheeler, Winnipeg Jets

All teams must have their 23-man rosters finalized by June 1st.