Who Will Fill the Final Formula E Seats?

Spread the love

Pre-season testing is over, new drivers have entered the series, some have left and plenty have tested for the teams. However, with only a limited number of cockpits left, who will fill the final Formula E seats?


The Team China squad had a few drivers race for them in the first season, including Ho-Pin Tung, Antonio Garcia, Charles Pic and Oliver Turvey. The only ones to score points were Pic and Turvey. It looks like Oliver Turvey will get the seat however, having tested for the team during pre-season testing and impressing in the final two races of last season.

PREDICTION: Piquet Jr/Turvey

Amlin Andretti

Andretti utilised a lot of drivers during their inaugural season. Initially starting out with Franck Montagny and Charles Pic. From thereafter their seats consisted of a mix including Jean-Eric Vergne, Matthew Brabham, Simona de Silvestro, Scott Speed and of course the late Justin Wilson. Silvestro has already been confirmed to race for them, but the second seat is still unknown. Most recently, Robin Frijns tested with the team and got in some good mileage now the team have reverted back to their season one powertrain. Vergne jumped ship to join Virgin while the likes of Pic and Brabham haven’t been seen at all during testing. Scott Speed impressed hugely during his tenure of the seat, but like the others, hasn’t, publicly, tested for the team. So, it is very difficult to make a prediction, so I can only base it on what I saw during testing, and that is no bad thing.

PREDICTION: Silvestro/Frijns

Team Aguri

Antonio Felix da Costa and Salvador Duran were the teams’ main drivers last season, with Katherine Legge, Takuma Sato and Sakon Yamamoto also taking turns driving. Da Costa scored the teams first win, but looks unlikely to continue this season with too many clashes with the DTM. Although Duran tested with the team in the first pre-season tests and private tests, the Mexican moves over to join the Trulli squad. The Japanese squad had a host of new drivers testing for them. The team will stick with the season one powertrain. Those drivers included Stefano Coletti, Nathanael Berthon, Nicolas Lapierre, Tom Dillman and Pedro de la Rosa. Dillman, Berthon and Coletti all impressed, posting good times. Coletti has stated he has nothing planned next year in regards to continuing in the IndyCar series, while Berthon races in GP2 and sportscars and Dillman races in Formula Renault. Again, it’s tough to predicts this one with Dillman, Coletti and Berthon all worthy of the seat. Berthon stands out for me, however, the final outcome will include many factors such as availability and perhaps sponsorship. On the other hand, very recently da Costa has stated, through his twitter that he is “still very heavily involved and [intends] to race [in] season 2” and is confident he “will find a good seat”. Also, now that the first race has been postponed, he “can now attend”. As a result, it appears da Costa may have occasional drives this year with Aguri and possibly other teams. Watch this space.

PREDICTION: Berthon/Coletti/da Costa*

*When there is no clash with DTM

Now with the first race in Beijing delayed for a week, it is likely we will have all the drivers confirmed before the first race. Although last year was very unstable in terms of drivers, this year looks to be more consistent and competitive. The Formula E driver silly season is certainly more exciting than the Formula One driver market.

Main image: