Team Canada Announces Roster for Sochi Olympics


Today Steve Yzerman and Hockey Canada announced their 25 man roster for the Sochi Olympics.

Forwards: Patrice Bergeron (BOS), Jeff Carter (LAK), Sidney Crosby (PIT), Matt Duchene (COL), Jamie Benn (DAL), John Tavares (NYI), Ryan Getzlaf (ANA), Chris Kunitz (PIT), Patrick Sharp (CHI), Jonathan Toews (CHI), Patrick Marleau (SJ), Rick Nash (NYR), Corey Perry (ANA), Steven Stamkos (TB)

Defense: Duncan Keith (CHI), P.K. Subban (MTL), Alex Pietrangelo (STL), Jay Bouwmeester (STL), Shea Weber (NAS), Drew Doughty (LAK), Dam Hamhuis (VAN), Marc-Edouard Vlasic (SJ)

Goaltenders: Carey Price (MTL), Roberto Luongo (VAN), Mike Smith (PHX)

** Bold denotes returning Olympians

Team Canada has 11 returning from their gold medal winning team in 2010 as they look to defend at the 2014 Sochi games.

Notable cuts from this year’s team are Martin St. Louis (TB) who wasn’t on the 2010 team, but has played well and is captain of the Tampa Bay Lightning.  Steve Yzerman – Executive Director of the Canadian team – is the current General Manager of the Lightning, a proximity that many speculated might be enough to give him the edge over the likes of Patrick Marleau. Today’s announcement proves that it wasn’t.

No player has had more movement on the Canadian depth charts than Philadelphia Flyers captain Claude Giroux.  He went from a forecasted lock over the past few years, to no longer being in the consideration earlier this year, due to inconsistent play.  In recent weeks he stepped his game back up and worked himself back into consideration, however was still left off the team.

Fans of the Montreal Canadiens will be excited to see PK Subban make the team. The NHL’s reigning Norris Trophy winner was on the bubble throughout the recent weeks and had no guarantees of his spot being assured.

Much will be said and there is plenty left to be analyzed.  Stay tuned to for further coverage and analysis of the 2014 Canadian Olympic team.