Hockey Canada U18 Roster announced


Hockey Canada has announced the official roster for the IIHF Under 18 World Championships.  The team will compete at the Under-18 World Championships opening on April 17 in Lapeenranta and Imatra, Finland.

TopShelfProspectsLast year Canada won gold at the Under-18s but only one player, Roland McKeown, returns from that roster.  However the team does include 13 members of Team Canada’s Ivan Hlinka winning squad last summer.

Top prospects for the 2014 NHL draft include Jared McCann, Brendan Perlini, Haydn Fleury, and Jake Virtanen.  For these players it will be their last chance in game action to impress NHL scouts ahead of the 2014 NHL draft.

Players not eligible to be drafted until 2015 include Ryan Pilon, Matthew Barzal, Lawson Crouse, Travis Konecny, and Ryan Gropp.

The team currently features three goaltenders, seven defencemen and 13 forwards on the training camp roster.  The team features 12 WHL players, six OHL players, and five QMJHL players.

Unfortunately, Canada will be without Sam Bennett, who was injured in the Kingston Frontenacs first round loss to Peterborough and is unable to compete in the games.  LWOS’ number three ranked prospect would have been a huge addition to this team, and now others must step up and produce offence.

Former Florida Panthers coach Kevin Dineen will coach the squad. This is Dineen’s first time coaching at the Under 18s.  He is coming off coaching the Canadian Women’s team to an Olympic Gold Medal in Sochi.

Canada opens the tournament on April 17th against Sweden.


Canada U18 Roster


Julio Billia, Chicoutimi (QMJHL); Mason MacDonald, Acadie-Bathurst (QMJHL); Brent Moran, Niagara (OHL)


Alexandre Carrier, Gatineau (QMJHL); Haydn Fleury, Red Deer (WHL); Joe Hicketts, Victoria (WHL); Roland McKeown, Kingston (OHL); Ryan Pilon, Brandon (WHL); Travis Sanheim, Calgary (WHL); Ben Thomas, Calgary (WHL);


Daniel Audette, Sherbrooke (QMJHL); Matthew Barzal, Seattle (WHL); Clarke Bishop, Cape Breton (QMJHL); Connor Bleackley, Red Deer (WHL); Lawson Crouse, Kingston (OHL); Ryan Gropp, Seattle (WHL); Jayce Hawrlyuk, Brandon (WHL); Travis Konency, Ottawa (OHL); Jared McCann, Sault Ste. Marie (OHL); Brendan Perlini, Niagara (OHL); Brayden Point, Moose Jaw (WHL); John Quenneville, Brandon (WHL); Jake Virtanen, Calgary (WHL).


Thank you for reading. Please take a moment to follow me on Twitter – @lastwordBkerr.  Support LWOS by following us on Twitter – @LastWordOnSport – and “liking” our Facebook page.

Interested in writing for LWOS? We are looking for enthusiastic, talented writers to join our Hockey writing team.  Visit our ”Write for Us“ page for very easy details in how you can get started today!