Sports. Honestly. Since 2011

John Herdman reveals CanMNT roster for September International Friendlies

John Herdman reveals roster, which includes RCD Espanyol's Luca Koleosho

The CanMNT has announced its roster of 27 players who will make the trip overseas to Europe to play two friendlies against Qatar and Uruguay.

John Herdman reveals CanMNT roster for this month

CanMNT Players: MLS Representation and Luca Koleosho

Canada will face the hosts Qatar on September 23rd in Vienna before facing one of the best countries in South America Uruguay on September 27th in Bratislava, Slovakia. John Herdman met the media shortly after releasing his squad to discuss the upcoming challenges ahead.

” Being our first trip out of Concacaf and the first games against non-Concacaf nations since the start of our journey back in 2018 we will learn a lot in these moments”.

CF Montreal had the majority of players selected by Herdman who picked five players Alistair Johnston, Kamal Miller, Ismael Kone, Samuel Piette, and Joel Waterman. The two other Canadian clubs in TFC and Vancouver also on the roster are Richie Lareya, Mark-Anthony Kaye, Jonathan Osorio, and Lucas Cavallini who is the only Canadian representative from the Whitecaps.

Embed from Getty Images

Another newbie on the squad is Luca Koleosho who plays in La Liga for RCD Espanyol de Barcelona and also has nationality with the US, Italy, and Nigeria.

“Both opponents present different types of tests and with the quality of Uruguay we will see and feel first-hand the intensity of that next-level opponent.”

The CanMNT hasn’t played a game in Europe since March 2018 and these two games will prove to be a big test for a team looking to make a splash at their first World Cup in over 30 years. This will also be part of the CanMNT preparation for the 2022 FIFA World Cup. They made the FIFA World Cup for the first time since 1986 thanks to a 4-0 win over Jamaica at BMO Field.

John Herdman reveals CanMNT roster

Here is the full roster.


Milan Borjan (Red Star Belgrade), Maxime Crépeau (Los Angeles FC) and Dayne St. Clair (Minnesota United)


Sam Adekugbe (Hatayspor), Derek Cornelius (Panetolikos), Alphonso Davies (Bayern Munich), Alistair Johnston (CF Montreal), Scott Kennedy (Jahn Regensburg), Richie Layrea (Toronto FC, on loan from Nottingham Forest), Kamal Miller (CF Montreal), Steven Vitória (Chaves) and Joel Waterman (CF Montreal)


Stephen Eustáquio (Porto), Mark-Anthony Kaye (Toronto FC), Ismaël Koné (CF Montreal), Jonathan Osorio (Toronto FC) and Samuel Piette (CF Montreal)

Forwards: Charles-Andreas Brym (FC Eindhoven), Tajon Buchanan (Club Brugge), Lucas Cavallini (Vancouver Whitecaps), Theo Corbeanu (Blackpool, on loan from Wolves), Jonathan David (Lille), David “Junior” Hoilett (Reading), Luca Koleosho (RCD Espanyol de Barcelona), Cyle Larin (Club Brugge), Liam Millar (Basel) and Iké Ugbo (Troyes)


More Posts

Send Us A Message