Sports. Honestly. Since 2011

Five Players Suspended by NFL For Gambling

NFL Suspends Players For Gambling

The NFL announced the suspension of five players, including four from the Detroit Lions. The fifth player was Washington Commanders defensive end, Shaka Toney. Lions receivers Jameson Williams, Quintez Cephus, Stanley Berryhill, and safety C.J. Moore were part of the suspensions.

NFL Suspends Four Detroit Lions Players, One Washington Commanders Player For Gambling

Detroit was made aware of the league’s investigation about a month ago, prior to the NFL making their final decision.

“As a result of an NFL investigation, it came to our attention that a few of our players had violated the league’s gambling policy,” Lions general manager Brad Holmes said in a statement.

Immediately, the team parted ways with Quintez Cephus and safety C.J. Moore. Detroit stated that they will “work with both Jameson Williams and Stanley Berryhill to ensure they understand the severity of these violations and have clarity on the league rules moving forward.”

Williams and Berryhill are allowed to continue taking part in football activities, including preseason games, during the offseason and their suspensions will take effect once final roster cuts are made.

The suspensions are the first gambling-related bans for players since 2022. The NFL recently reinstated receiver Calvin Ridley of the Jacksonville Jaguars for the 2022 campaign.

The Commanders released a statement saying they are aware of Toney’s suspension. They also noted they have been cooperating with the league’s investigation and support their findings and actions. Washington advised any further questions should be directed to the NFL office in New York.

The NFL prohibits anyone in the NFL from any form of betting while in any league facility or venue.

In addition, the NFL did note in its announcement that they found no evidence indicating that inside information was used. Ie. they were not betting against their team and/or point-shaving.

The players suspended indefinitely can apply for reinstatement next year.

Main Image: Lon Horwedel-USA TODAY Sports


More Posts

Send Us A Message