The NFC East Stands in the Way of the Washington Football Team Repeating as NFC East Champions

Spread the love

The NFC East stands in the way of the Washington Football Team repeating as NFC East Champions for the first time in almost 40 years. Washington is also looking to be the first NFC East team to repeat as division champions since the Philadelphia Eagles won four consecutive NFC East titles in 2001, 2002, 2003, and 2004. 

Washington will face an NFC East opponent each week during the final five weeks of the regular season. Washington is currently on a four-game winning streak and building momentum for a late-season playoff run. Matchups within a division always have an added intensity because of the long-standing rivalries. The intensity of the matchups increases exponentially when a trip to the playoffs is at stake.

Washington is in second place in the NFC East, entering their Week 14 matchup against the Dallas Cowboys,  If the playoffs started today, Washington would be the sixth seed and face the Tampa Bay Buccaneers in the Wild Card round.

If Washington earns a playoff berth, it would be the team’s first time making the playoffs in consecutive seasons since 1992. Let’s take a look at the road Washington must travel to win the division and return to the playoffs. 

The NFC East Stands in the Way of a Washington Repeat as Champions

The Dallas Cowboys

Washington will face off against the division-leading Cowboys in Week 14 at FedEx Field. The Cowboys are entering the contest with an 8-4 record but have lost two of their last three games. Washington is two games behind the Cowboys for the division lead. While the Cowboys are favored to win, a Washington victory in Week 14 would put them a game behind the Cowboys heading into Week 15.

The Cowboys will face the New York Giants in Week 15, which will likely be a victory for the Cowboys. The Giants are currently in last place in the division and have struggled on offense all season. 

AT&T Stadium will be the site of the Week 16 rematch between Washington and the Cowboys. This game could be for the division lead. If Washington defeats the Cowboys in Week 14 and 16, it would give them the advantage in head-to-head matchups and improve their record against division opponents.

The Philadelphia Eagles

Washington will face the Eagles in Week 15 and 17. The Eagles are in third place in the division and a game behind Washington in the loss column. The Eagles are 0-2 against NFC East with losses to the Cowboys and Giants. Washington swept the season series with the Eagles in 2020 and will be looking to do the same in 2021. 

The New York Giants

The New York Giants will host Washington in Week 18. The Giants may be looking to spoil Washington’s hopes of repeating as NFC East Champions. The Giants swept the head-to-head matchups against Washington in 2020. However, Washington snapped a four-game losing streak to the Giants with a 30-29 win in Week 2. 

Defeating the NFC East

In their quest to repeat as NFC East Champions, Washington’s greatest nemesis is likely the Cowboys. However, any division opponent can pose a threat regardless of their record, so Washington cannot take the Eagles and Giants lightly. Washington’s improved performance has come at the right time as they face what may be the most difficult five games of the season. If Washington can defeat their NFC counterparts, they will repeat as division champions and return to the playoffs. 

Main Photo:
Embed from Getty Images