Marc-Andre Fleury wins the Vezina Trophy

Marc-Andre Fleury
Spread the love

On June 29th, all 31 NHL General Managers named Marc-Andre Fleury as the Vezina Trophy winner, awarded annually to the goaltender best at his position. This is the first Vezina Trophy for the veteran Fleury.

Fleury Named the 2020-21 Vezina Trophy Winner

Fleury Takes Home Hardware

The time has finally come for Marc-Andre Fleury to receive his recognition as one of the league’s best goaltenders. After 13 years in Pittsburgh and four in Vegas, the 36-year-old had his best career season. Fleury finished the season 26-10 in 36 games with a 9.28 save percentage and a 1.98 goals-against average. In the same season that saw the Flower pass Roberto Luongo for third in career wins(492), he and Robin Lehner, his platoon mate, combined to win the NHL’s William M. Jennings Trophy for giving up the fewest goals in the league. This Vezina trophy is another feather in the cap of Fleury’s soon-to-be hall of fame career.

Looking At The Future of The Vezina Trophy

All three of Vasilevskiy, Fleury and Grubauer could realistically be nominated for the Vezina award again next year. Their teams (Tampa, Vegas and Colorado) will be expected to make the playoffs and even compete for the Stanley Cup with them between the pipes. All three have motivations to carry on their illustrious play from this season. Vasilevskiy looks as if he has taken over as the best goalie in the world and isn’t slowing down. Fleury is on the back nine of his career but still has something to prove as a Golden Knight. Lastly, Grubauer followed in the path of Braden Holtby for seasons and is looking to prove he is a true number one talent. The future of the NHL’s Vezina Trophy looks to be in good hands now and for years to come.

Main Photo:

Embed from Getty Images