NHL Announces 2020 Selke Trophy Finalists

Selke Trophy

The NHL announced the three finalists for the Frank J. Selke Trophy that goes to the best defensive forward in the game. The finalists are Ryan O’Reilly of the St. Louis Blues, Patrice Bergeron of the Boston Bruins, and Sean Couturier of the Philadelphia Flyers. The NHL will be announcing the winner during the conference finals.

Selke Trophy Finalists Announced

Ryan O’Reilly

This is the second straight season Ryan O’Reilly is nominated for the Selke award after winning the award last season. This season, he recorded 61 points (12 goals and 49 assists) while averaging 20:34 of ice, the most amongst Blues forwards. The Blues number one center led the NHL for the third straight season in face-off wins with 880. In addition, he is first with 1,556 face-offs taken, first with 593 defensive-zone face-offs and seventh in face-off percentage. Also, O’Reilly is second amongst Blues forwards in shorthanded ice time. Along with his Selke nomination, O’Reilly is up for the Lady Byng Trophy.

Patrice Bergeron

This is the nine consecutive season Patrice Bergeron has been nominated for the Selke Trophy. He has won the award four-time and is looking to win it for a record fifth time. But has not won the award since the 2016-17 season. Bergeron recorded 56 points (31 goals and 25 assists) averaging 18:44 of ice time. He helped the Bruins allow the fewest goals in the NHL this season along with bringing them to the President’s Trophy. Bergeron ranked fourth in face-off winning percentage, third in defensive-zone face-off winning percentage. In addition, he is ranked with 1,311 face-offs taken and fifth with 750 face-offs won.

Sean Couturier

This is the second time Sean Couturier has been a finalist for the Selke Trophy. He finished second to Anze Kopitar of the Los Angeles Kings during the 2017-18 season. This season Couturier recorded 59 points (22 goals and 37 assists) averaging 19:50 of ice time. He led the NHL in face-off winning percentage and finished third in defensive-zone face-off winning percentage. Couturier is looking to become the third Flyers player to win the award and first since Dave Poulin in 1986-87.

Main Photo:
Embed from Getty Images



(Comments, if enabled, are below this video.)

Warning: Use of undefined constant TDC_PATH_LEGACY - assumed 'TDC_PATH_LEGACY' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /data/www/ms.lastwordonsports.com/wp-content/plugins/td-composer/td-composer.php on line 107

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.