Hockey Hall of Fame Announces Class of 2020

2020 Hockey Hall of Fame

The Hockey Hall of Fame announced the class of 2020 which includes Jarome Iginla, Marian Hossa, Kevin Lowe, Doug Wilson, Kim St. Pierre, and Ken Holland in the Builders Category.

2020 Hockey Hall of Fame Class

Jarome Iginla

Iginla was a lock for the Hall of Fame this year on his first year of eligibility. This was a long time coming for Iginla who spent the majority of his career with the Calgary Flames. Originally drafted 11th overall by the Dallas Stars in the 1995 NHL Draft, the Stars traded Iginla to the Flames for Corey Millen and Joe Nieuwendyk. From there Iginla’s career took off after finishing up with the Kamloops Blazers, he joined the Flames during the 1996 Stanley Cup Playoffs. He made an immediate impact recording two points in his first two games. He remained with the team from then on. Iginla took over the captaincy during the 2003-04 season, where the Flames made it all the way to the Stanley Cup Final losing in seven games to the Tampa Bay Lightning. However, if you talk to people in Calgary, the Flames won the Cup.

During his tenure in the NHL, he played for the Flames, Pittsburgh Penguins, Boston Bruins, Los Angeles Kings, and Colorado Avalanche. Only making it to the Stanley Cup Final on one occasion. On the international stage, Iginla won two Olympic gold medals in 2010 and 2014, including setting up Sidney Crosby‘s Golden Goal in 2010. Not to mention he won a gold medal at the 1997 World Championships and 1996 World Junior Championships. For his career, Iginla played in 1554 games recording 1300 points (625 goals and 675 assists).

Marian Hossa

Also on his first year of eligibility, Marian Hossa is elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame. Originally drafted 12th overall by the Ottawa Senators in the 1997 NHL Draft, Hossa spent 17 seasons in the NHL playing with the Chicago Blackhawks, Senators, Atlanta Thrashers, Detroit Red Wings, and Penguins. He won three Stanley Cups with the Blackhawks in 2010, 2013, and 2015 after losing in two straight finals one with the Red Wings and the other with the Penguins. Hossa played in 1309 games recording 1,134 points (525 goals and 609 assists). Before the start of the 2017-18 season, Hossa had to leave hockey because of a skin disorder.

Doug Wilson

Also getting elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame is Doug Wilson. Wilson played 14 seasons in the NHL after being drafted by the Blackhawks in the 1977 Amateur Draft. For 10 consecutive seasons, Wilson led the defence in scoring. During the 1981-82 season, Wilson the Norris trophy as the league’s best defenceman. He played with the Blackhawks up until 1991 when he was traded to the expansion team San Jose Sharks. He retired after the 1992-93 season before moving into management. At the top of his retirement, Wilson ranked eighth in scoring for defenceman. He is now 15th. During 1024 career regular-season NHL Games, Wilson recorded 827 points (237 goals and 590 assists).

Kevin Lowe

The final NHL player elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame is defenceman Kevin Lowe. Lowe played for the Edmonton Oilers and New York Rangers. He played 13 seasons in Edmonton after being drafted in the first round during the 1979 NHL Draft. Lowe was part of the Oilers dynasty that won five Stanley Cups. Lowe was traded to the Rangers prior to the 1992 season, where he played four more seasons winning a sixth Stanley Cup in 1994. In 1254 career games, Lowe recorded 431 points (84 goals and 347 assists).

Kim St. Pierre

In the women’s category, the Hockey Hall of Fame elected goaltender Kim St-Pierre. St. Pierre is the eighth woman and first goaltender in this category to be elected. Up until the age of 18, she played boys hockey. She played on the women’s team at McGill University before her career took playing in the Canadian Women’s Hockey League (CWHL). She represented Canada on the international stage as well as winning three Olympic gold medals and five World Women’s Championship Gold Medals. For her career with Canada, she finished with a 1.17 goals-against average and .939 save percentage.

Ken Holland – Builder

The final member of the Hockey Hall of Fame is current Oilers and former Red Wings general manager Ken Holland. Holland was elected in the Builders Category. After his playing career was overall, he was a scout with the Red Wings in 1985. As time went on Holland moved up the ladder from the assistant general manager of the Red Wings, and acting general of the AHL affiliate to being named the general manager in 1997. Things took off for him in 1997 as the Red Wings began their dynast winning Stanley Cups. As the general manager, Holland oversaw three Stanley Cup-winning teams. During his time in Detroit, the Red Wings won more combined regular season and playoff games (1,044) than any other team.

The 2020 Hockey Hall of Fame induction ceremony is tentatively set for November 13-15, though it could be moved due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Main Photo:
Embed from Getty Images


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.