NHL All-Star Game Rosters Announced

NHL All-Star
Spread the love

The NHL All-Star Game roster will see three players from the host team suit up for the game set to take place on January 26th in San Jose. Joe Pavelski, Brent Burns, and Erik Karlsson were all selected as members of the Pacific Division All-Star Team.

NHL All-Star Roster Released

Pacific Division

The San Jose Sharks are the only team with three players selected. Those three will team up with Johnny Gaudreau (Calgary Flames), Clayton Keller (Arizona Coyotes), Connor McDavid (Edmonton Oilers), and Elias Pettersson (Vancouver Canucks) at forward. Drew Doughty (Los Angeles Kings) will join the Sharks other blueliners. Marc-Andre Fleury (Vegas Golden Knights) and John Gibson (Anaheim Ducks) are the two goaltenders.

Fans voted McDavis in as team captain. Pettersson, who leads all rookies with 39 points so far this season, and Keller will be attending their first All-Star Games.

Central Division

The Central Division is captained by Nathan MacKinnon (Colorado Avalanche). Three players from this division are appearing in their first All-Star Game. Those players are Mikko Rantanen (Colorado Avalanche), Mark Scheifele (Winnipeg Jets), and Miro Heiskanen (Dallas Stars).

The rest of the roster includes Patrick Kane (Chicago Blackhawks)Ryan O’Reilly (St. Louis Blues), Blake Wheeler (Winnipeg Jets), and Roman Josi (Nashville Predators). The goaltenders are Devan Dubnyk (Minnesota Wild) and Pekka Rinne (Nashville Predators).

The Central Division has two of the top three scorers in the NHL this season in Colorado’s MacKinnon and Rantanen.

Atlantic Division

Auston Matthews (Toronto Maple Leafs) was selected as captain of the Atlantic Division Team. He’ll attend with teammate John TavaresNikita Kucherov (Tampa Bay Lightning), Jack Eichel (Buffalo Sabres), David Pastrnak (Boston Bruins), and Steven Stamkos (Tampa Bay Lightning) are the forwards. Thomas Chabot (Ottawa Senators), and Keith Yandle (Florida Panthers) fill out the defense. Jimmy Howard (Detroit Red Wings) and Carey Price (Montreal Canadiens) will attend as the Atlantic Division netminders.

Despite an average season with a .904 save percentage and a 15-10-4 record, it’s Price’s seventh All-Star Game. Only Patrick Kane (eight All-Star appearances) has more All-Star Games under his belt.

Pastrnak and Chabot are attending their first All-Star games.

Metropolitan Division

The Metropolitan Division is currently without a captain, though, after Alex Ovechkin decided to skip the All-Star Game in favor of taking the time off to rest. But there will be no shortage of players from the nation’s capital as John Carlson (Washington Capitals) and goaltender Braden Holtby (Washington Capitals) will be attending the game.

The Metropolitan Division will also ice Sebastian Aho (Carolina Hurricanes),  Cam Atkinson (Columbus Blue Jackets), Mathew Barzal (New York Islanders), Sidney Crosby (Pittsburgh Penguins), Claude Giroux (Philadelphia Flyers) and Taylor Hall (New Jersey Devils) at forward. Seth Jones (Columbus Blue Jackets) joins Carlson on defense. Henrik Lundqvist (New York Rangers) is the second goaltender.

The Metropolitan Division has three players making their debut All-Star Game appearance in Aho, Barzal, and Carlson.

All-Star Last Men In

Each division will have one more player added as part of the All-Star Last Men In fan vote.  Some of the names highlighting the list include Jeff Skinner, Patrik LaineLeon Draisaitl and Kris Letang. Fans will have the opportunity to vote starting Thursday afternoon.

Main Photo
Embed from Getty Images