Sports. Honestly. Since 2011

2018 NHL Awards Live Results

NHL Awards

The NHL Awards go down tonight at the Hard Rock Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas. There is plenty of hardware for the league to hand out. Stick with Last Word on Hockey, as we will be updating the Awards all night long.

Live Results: 2018 NHL Awards

Ted Lindsay Award – Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers

The Lindsay is awarded to the NHL’s Most Outstanding Player as voted by the Players. Connor McDavid won the Art Ross Trophy with 41 goals and 67 assists for 108 this season. It is the second straight Lindsay for McDavid, as well as his second straight scoring title.

The other nominees were Taylor Hall of the New Jersey Devils and Nathan MacKinnon of the Colorado Avalanche.

William M. Jennings Trophy – Jonathan Quick, Los Angeles Kings

Quick is announced as the winner of the Jennings trophy, awarded to the goalie or goalies who play in enough games to qualify, for the team with the fewest goals against in the NHL. The 203 goals surrendered by the Kings were best in the NHL this year.

Norris Trophy – Victor Hedman, Tampa Bay Lightning

The award for the NHL’s best defenceman goes to Victor Hedman. Hedman put up 17 goals and 46 assists for 63 points this season. He was the top defenceman on the Lightning, who were the best team in the Eastern Conference.

The other nominees were P.K. Subban of the Nashville Predators and Drew Doughty of the Los Angeles Kings.

King Clancy Memorial Trophy – Daniel Sedin and Henrik Sedin, Vancouver Canucks

The Canucks twins take home the Clancy Trophy for their community involvement off the ice. The Sedins work in Vancouver has been immense throughout their career, and the brothers take home one final award in their NHL career.

The other nominees were P.K. Subban of the Predators and Jason Zucker of the Minnesota Wild.

Calder Trophy – Mathew Barzal, New York Islanders

The NHL Rookie of the Year award goes to Barzal. Barzal scored 22 goals and 63 assists for 85 points this year. The 20-year-old finished 20 points ahead of the NHL’s next highest scoring rookie.

The other nominees were Brock Boeser of the Canucks and Clayton Keller of the Arizona Coyotes.

Lady Byng Trophy – William Karlsson, Vegas Golden Knights

Karlsson scored 43 goals and 35 assists for 78 points for the Golden Knights this year. He also took only 12 minutes in penalties. This was the fewest of the NHL’s top 40 scorers. Karlsson helped the Golden Knights to a remarkable inaugural season.

The other nominees were Aleksander Barkov of the Florida Panthers and Ryan O’Reilly of the Buffalo Sabres.

Masterton Trophy – Brian BoyleNew Jersey Devils

The Masterton Trophy goes to the Brian Boyle for perseverance and dedication to hockey. Boyle was diagnosed with a form of leukemia in training camp. He wound up coming back and scoring 13 goals and 10 assists for 23 points in 63 games this year. He was also an NHL All-Star.

The other nominees were Roberto Luongo of the Florida Panthers and Jordan Staal of the Carolina Hurricanes.

EA SPORTS Cover Athlete – P.K. Subban

The cover of EA Sports NHL 19 video game will be graced by P.K. Subban. Subban was third in Norris voting. He put up 16 goals and 43 assists for 59 points this year, and helped the Nashville Predators to the President’s Trophy.

Selke Trophy – Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings

The award for the NHL’s Best Defensive Forward goes to Anze Kopitar for the second time. Kopitar scored 35 goals and 57 assists for 92 points this year. His possession numbers were 55.4 percent Corsi-for, and +2.8 relative Corsi.

The other nominees for the award were Patrice Bergeron of the Boston Bruins and Sean Couturier of the Philadelphia Flyers.

Jack Adams Award – Gerard Gallant, Vegas Golden Knights

The award for coach of the year goes to Gerard Gallant. Gallant took the “Golden Misfits” to the top of the Pacific Division, and to the Stanley Cup Final. It was the best performance of an expansion team ever, in any major North American sport.

The other nominees were Jared Bednar of the Colorado Avalanche and Bruce Cassidy of the Boston Bruins.

Rocket Richard Trophy – Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals

With 49 goals this season Alex Ovechkin again wins the Rocket Richard Trophy. It is his seventh time winning the award. He finished five goals ahead of Patrik Laine of the Winnipeg Jets.

Messier Leadership Award – Deryk Engelland, Vegas Golden Knights,

The award for leadership on and off the ice goes to Engelland. He put up a career season with five goals and 18 assists for 23 points. A leader on ice for the Golden Knights, Engelland was also instrumental in off-ice work in the Las Vegas community.

The other nominees were Wayne Simmonds of the Philadelphia Flyers and Blake Wheeler of the Winnipeg Jets.

Vezina Trophy – Pekka Rinne, Nashville Predators

The award for the NHL’s best goalie this season goes to Pekka Rinne. Rinne went 42-13-4 as the Predators won the President’s Trophy as the top regular season team in the league. He had a 2.31 goals against average, a .927 save percentage, and eight shutouts.

The other nominees were Connor Hellebuyck of the Winnipeg Jets and Andrei Vasilevskiy of the Tampa Bay Lightning.

GM of the Year – George McPhee, Vegas Golden Knights

McPhee wins the award for assembling the expansion Vegas Golden Knights. The team shocked the world this year, and were better than any expansion team in history. They made the Stanley Cup Final.

The other nominees were Kevin Cheveldayoff of the Winnipeg Jets and Steve Yzerman of the Tampa Bay Lightning.

Art Ross Trophy – Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers

With 108 points, Connor McDavid wins his second straight NHL scoring title. He finished six points ahead of Claude Giroux of the Philadelphia Flyers, and eight points ahead of Nikita Kucherov of the Tampa Bay Lightning. These three players are the only ones to break the century mark this season.

Willie O’Ree Community Hero – Darcy Hogan

This is the first year for this award. Hogan wins the award for his work in coaching the Humboldt Broncos. He believed in the philosophy of not just helping his team become better players, but truly moulding them into better people. While Hogan lost his life in the tragic bus crash that devastated the team, his memory and his legacy will live on.

The other nominees were Debbie Bland of Etobicoke, Ontario, Neil Henderson of Washington D.C, and Darcy Hogan of Humboldt Saskatchewan.

Hart Trophy – Taylor Hall, New Jersey Devils

The Trophy for the NHL’s most valuable player goes to Taylor Hall of the New Jersey Devils. He led the Devils back to the playoffs, scoring 39 goals and 54 assists for 93 points. He finished 41 points ahead of the next highest scoring player on the Devils.

The other nominees were Anze Kopitar of the Los Angeles Kings and Nathan MacKinnon of the Colorado Avalanche.


More Posts

Send Us A Message