Welcome to Division I: Tarleton State Texans

Last Word on Pro Basketball is taking a look at the newest teams to Division I for the upcoming 2020-21 season. To catch up on last week’s profile of the Dixie State Trailblazers, click here. This week the spotlight turns to the Tarleton State Texans. The Texans call Stephenville, Texas home and will be joining the Western Athletic Conference (WAC).

Tarleton State Texans, Welcome to Division I


The Tarleton State basketball program has competed at the senior college level since 1961, playing at the junior college level prior to that. The Texans started in the NAIA ranks and then joined the NCAA at the Division II level beginning with the 1994-95 season. Tarleton State turned themselves into a powerhouse at the D-II ranks over the last 20 years. The Texans made 14 Division II tournaments during that span. They reached the Final Four in 2005 and 2015 and also have four Elite Eight and six Sweet 16 appearances.

All of that success came under former head coach Lonn Reisman. Reisman finished his coaching career at Tarleton State with 654 wins at the school and 691 overall. He is one of just 14 men’s coaches between the D-I and D-II levels combined with at least 650 career wins. Reisman did all of this while also holding the position of athletic director, which he still holds now as he helps guide the program into a new era.


Tarleton State comes from the Lone Star Conference, where they had captured six regular-season titles and three conference tournament titles. The Lone Star Conference has produced eight current members of Division I, including Houston and Stephen F. Austin. The Texans went 18-12 this past season, missing the Division II tournament for the third straight season.

The Texans will be entering a new era of basketball with a new head man. Billy Gillispie was hired in the off-season bringing with him prior Division I coaching experience. Gillispie had stints at Kentucky, Texas Tech, Texas A&M, and UTEP prior to this. He was particularly well-known for turning around the Texas A&M and UTEP programs while also not meeting expectations for Kentucky. However, the athletic department is hoping all of that coaching experience will make the transition up smoother.


The last three years have been disappointing by Tarleton State standards. However, the winning culture there sets the bar higher than most other programs. The Texans are 47-23 against teams that are currently classified as D-I, with most of those wins coming against Abilene Christian while both were Division II members. The biggest win the program has is against TCU back in 2005.

Like fellow new member Dixie State, Tarleton State will have to measure their success based on New Mexico State in the WAC. However, with the WAC being a hot league for new teams to D-I, plenty of former transitional teams have shown they can be successful here. The lack of recent success may make the transition a bit more challenging, so the first goal should be having a .500 season. Before their four-year transition period is over, making the CIT or CBI is feasible.


Main Photo:
Embed from Getty Images

2 Responses You are logged in as Test

  1. Thanks for the write-up on Tarleton State joining the WAC, however, Tarleton has had a basketball program much longer than 1961.
    “John Tarleton Agricultural College was recognized in the early years as one
    of the state’s most powerful junior college teams. Outstanding individuals in the early years included such names as Roy Hudspeth, Vernon “Bunt” Adams, Monty Montgomery, Zelna Compton, and Brady Nix – all of whom played on Tarleton’s junior college state title teams between 1917 and 1926.
    Beginning in 1934, under the direction of Coach W.J. Wisdom, the Tarleton Plowboys – as they were known then – won 86 consecutive games and were undefeated for four seasons. In a 10-year span the team won 157 of 169 games, a record unmatched by any team. Several times during that streak, the Plowboys played four-year scholarship teams. Names like Willard Baxter, Willie Tate, Joe Headstream, Oran Spears, James Britt, Elmer Finley, Jude Smith, Carl McConachie, Thurman “Slue” Hull, and Tommy Tinker were legends at Tarleton during the 1930s. The 86-game winning streak set by Wisdom’s basketball teams from 1934-38 was a national record until John Wooden’s UCLA Bruins won 88 straight from 1971-74.
    The Plowboy teams had varied success following World War II and until 1961, when the school began senior college competition. The team nickname was changed to the Texans.”

    1. Kurt,

      Thank you for providing that information. That was an oversight on my part, and I have updated the piece to reflect the information you have provided. Thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.