2018 ACC Postseason Awards Announced

Marvin Bagley III

The ACC announced its postseason awards on Sunday following the completion of the regular season. The tournament is set to tip off on Tuesday and it is going to be a good one thanks to the depth of the conference.

ACC Postseason Awards Announced

Player of the Year

Duke’s Marvin Bagley III took home the ACC Player of the Year award along with the Rookie of the Year honors. Both of these selections were obvious. The freshman phenomenon averaged 20.7 points and 11.2 rebounds per game.

Despite missing four games due to injury, Bagley remained the best player in the conference and one of the best in the country. All doubts about him winning this award were put to the side on Saturday night. Duke took down North Carolina with a dominant second half led by Bagley. He scored 21 points on 9-14 shooting and grabbed 15 rebounds.

Bagley, who leads the ACC in rebounding and is tied for the lead in scoring, received 37 votes out of 57. He received 56 out of 57 votes for Rookie of the Year. Bagley joins former Blue Devil Jahlil Okafor as the only player in conference history to win both awards.

Virginia Cavaliers Awards

Virginia’s Tony Bennett was selected as the ACC Coach of the Year. He led the Cavaliers to a 28-2 record and an impressive 17-1 finish in conference play. This earned them the number one seed in the upcoming tournament and will be a top seed in the NCAA Tournament.

Bennett’s squad was by far the best defensive team in the country. They gave up an average of 52.8 points per game. It is only right that the ACC Defensive Player of the Year came from Virginia and it is senior Isaiah Wilkins. Virginia had many players on the All-Conference teams and freshman De’Andre Hunter was chosen as the Sixth Man of the Year.

The Cavaliers will have a shot to make some noise come tournament time because of their ability to defend. They can shut down any team and make things very difficult for shooters.

All-Conference Teams

Bagley headlines the All-Conference teams but he is joined on the first team by other great players. Two Tar Heels in Luke Maye and Joel Berry II were selected as first teamers along with Virginia’s Kyle Guy.

Maye was also selected as the ACC Most Improved Player. As a sophomore, he averaged 5.5 points and 3.9 rebounds. This season, he averaged 17.7 points and 10.1 rebounds.

Another Cavalier finds himself on the second team in Devon Hall. Clemson’s Marcquise Reed, Syracuse’s Tyus Battle, Virginia Tech’s Justin Robinson and Duke’s Wendell Carter Jr. were also selected to the second team.

The third team is made up of Notre Dame’s Matt Farrell, Virginia’s Ty Jerome, Georgia Tech’s Josh Okogie, NC State’s Omer Yurtseven and Duke’s Grayson Allen. Averaging 15.5 points on the season, Allen will complete a four-year career at Duke.

Duke’s Bagley and Cater Jr. were also selected to the All-Freshman Team. Joining them is Miami’s Lonnie Walker, Syracuse’s Oshae Brissett and Virginia’s Hunter. Wilkins headlines the All-Defensive Team along with fellow Cavalier Hall. Clemson’s Elijah Thomas, Louisville’s Anas Mahmoud and Georgia Tech’s Ben Lammers finish off the ACC awards.

Main Photo:

Embed from Getty Images