CIF Releases 2020 Schedule, Playoff Format

CIF releases 2020 schedule
Spread the love

Champions Indoor Football became the first of the three leagues to release their schedule for the 2020 season on Thursday morning.

The schedule features 15 weeks of action and a total of 12 games for each team.

Each team will also get six home and six away games.

CIF Releases 2020 Schedule, Playoff Format

The season will kick off on March 14 with the new expansion team in West Texas facing off with Omaha in the first game of the year. That’s a prime coaching matchup, too, with Marvin Jones for the Beef and Marcus Coleman down south.

It will be the first time since the Salt Lake Screaming Eagles (IFL) did it in 2017, that an expansion team will start off an indoor league’s season alone.

Since the league has an odd number of teams with seven competing for the 2020 CIF championship, at least one team will have a bye each week.

For the final week of the season, or one that may have some playoff-clinching games going on, the Amarillo Venom will be on a bye week.

The league also revealed that their 2020 playoffs once again be made up of by four teams with traditional seeding involved.

The release did not mention anything about a North or South conference, so expect the playoff teams to be seeded on the top four records in the league.

The full schedule for the 2020 CIF season can be found in text form below:

2020 CIF Schedule
All games on Saturday’s unless noted

Week 1 – March 14
Omaha @ West Texas

Week 2 – March 21
(Fri.) West Texas @ Oklahoma
Omaha @ Sioux City
Amarillo @ Salina

Week 3 – March 28
Sioux City @ Salina
Wichita @ Omaha
(Sun.) West Texas @ Amarillo

Week 4 – April 4
Sioux City @ Wichita
Oklahoma @ Salina

Week 5 – April 11
Omaha @ Oklahoma
Amarillo @ West Texas
(Mon.) Salina @ Wichita

Week 6 – April 18
Sioux City @ Amarillo
(Sun.) Oklahoma @ Wichita
(Sun.) Salina @ Omaha

Week 7 – April 25
Salina @ Sioux City
Amarillo @ Oklahoma
Wichita @ West Texas

Week 8 – May 2
Amarillo @ Omaha
West Texas @ Sioux City
(Mon.) Salina @ Wichita

Week 9 – May 9
(Fri.) West Texas @ Oklahoma
Wichita @ Omaha
(Sun.) Amarillo @ Salina

Week 10 – May 16
Oklahoma @ Sioux City
Omaha @ Amarillo
Wichita @ West Texas

Week 11 – May 23
Sioux City @ Omaha
Salina @ West Texas
(Mon.) Oklahoma @ Amarillo

Week 12 – May 30
Salina @ Sioux City
West Texas @ Amarillo
Wichita @ Oklahoma

Week 13 – June 6
Sioux City @ Wichita
West Texas @ Amarillo
Wichita @ Oklahoma

Week 14 – June 13
Oklahoma @ West Texas
Omaha @ Wichita
Amarillo @ Sioux City

Week 15 – June 20
(Fri.) Sioux City @ Oklahoma
West Texas @ Omaha
Wichita @ Salina

You can find the release here and follow us on social media here.