The Rugby Cup Returns To National Provincial Championship

Provincial rugby in New Zealand will welcome back a famous piece of silverware in 2016, the Rugby Cup.

The Rugby Cup is one of the most iconic trophies within provincial rugby in New Zealand. The newly-restored piece of silverware was the big talking point at today’s official launch of the Mitre 10 Cup at the Eden Rugby Club.

Tuck J Waaka, former Bay of Plenty provincial captain and the man who first lifted the Rugby Cup back in 1976, was also on hand at the launch event.

The Rugby Cup Up For Grabs For First Time Since 2005

New Zealand Rugby (NZR) says that the Mitre 10 Cup plays a vital role in the development of the countries best sporting talent. NZR Chief Strategy and Operations Officer Nigel Cass said in an NZR media release;

The Mitre 10 Cup brings out the very best in provincial rugby and is unique because of its links to the past and strong focus on the future of the game in New Zealand.

This years competition will have an emphasis on fun, family friendly entertainment. Each provincial union will host a game that provides free food for children, and home teams will be available to sign autographs after the final whistle.

The Mitre 10 Cup will run for 11 weeks and once again feature the two Championship and Premiership divisions. Sides in the Premiership will be wanting to avoid relegation (the lowest finishing side). Teams in the Championship meanwhile will be eyeing top spot, and a return to the top grade in the promotion/relegation system.

The Ranfurly Shield retains its place as the most cherished trophy in domestic rugby. Current holders Waikato have survived three pre season challenges. Waikato will put the ‘Log o’ Wood’ on the line again, when they play North Harbour on August 27.

Mitre 10 Cup Begins On August 18th

The competition kicks off in Albany, Auckland as North Harbour take on Counties-Manakau at QBE Stadium on Thursday, August 18.

See link for the Mitre 10 Cup 2016 draw

“Main Photo”