Boston College Wins Beanpot Final in Historic 1-0 Victory

For the first time in the forty-six year history of the college hockey tournament, the Beanpot final ended in a 1-0 decision, with the Boston College Eagles defeating the Boston University Terriers in overtime on Monday night. This is the first time the teams have met in a final since 2012, and the eighth time that the final has gone to overtime in the last twelve years.

The game got off to a good start, with goalies Sean Maguire and Thatcher Demko stopping every shot they faced through regulation.

With 8:53 remaining in the first period, the lights at TD Garden went black, an event reminiscent of the 1988 Stanley Cup Final in which game four was suspended due to a power outage at the original Boston Garden. Play resumed 29 minutes later.

There was a scare at 10:09 in the third, when BC goalie and Vancouver Canucks prospect Thatcher Demko was run into by Jordan Greenway (no penalty was assessed). Freshman goalie Ian Milosz prepared to go in, but Demko decided to continue.

After 42 shots, BC’s Alex Tuch, a Minnesota Wild prospect drafted 18th overall in 2014,  scored the sudden-death winner on Maguire. Demko stopped thirty shots in the shutout.

BU’s Maguire was awarded both the Beanpot MVP Award and the Eberly Trophy for the goalie with the highest save percentage when playing both of his team’s games. His total was .970, the third-best in tournament history.

Northeastern defeated Harvard 5-1 in the consolation game earlier in the day. The Huskies’ Adam Gaudette, a 2015 Vancouver Canucks draftee, had two goals, while freshman goalie Ryan Ruck stopped 19 of 20 shots he faced.

Main Photo Credit:

Main Photo Caption: BOSTON, MA – FEBRUARY 08: Miles Wood #28 of Boston College shoots during the second period of the Beanpot Tournament championship game against Boston University at TD Garden on February 8, 2016 in Boston, Massachusetts. (Photo by Billie Weiss/Getty Images)